We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect seating with a perfect view!”
Review of Crab Catcher

Crab Catcher
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab Catcher is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cave St.
Transit: On Torrey Pines Road at Prospect Place, two blocks from the restaurant.
La Mesa, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect seating with a perfect view!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. We notified the host about the event and were seated by the large picture window. What an awesome view! We were able to view the Pacific Ocean, La Jolla Cove and the surrounding scenery. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was okay but the view made up for the food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyGR619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    226
    119
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Service - Decent food -- not really worth the expense”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wife and I dined at the Crab Catcher restaurant last night. My wife grew up in La Jolla and we visit there every couple of years but this was our first time dining at Crab Catcher.

The property is in a great location - right downtown La Jolla with views overlooking La Jolla's sea caves however, because it had been raining during the day, the outdoor portion of the restaurant was closed. The interior tables have limited ocean views with only a couple of window tables.

First thing -- service was very good. Our waiter, Michael, was attentive without being intrusive. He was very knowledgeable on the menu. My wife has a food allergy and he was able to help us navigate the choices.

The food was 'OK'. I had the Cioppino, wife had the crab ravioli. While acceptable, there was nothing extraordinary about either dish. Given the costs (our tab for two of us with a couple of glasses of wine) was about $150. We certainly don't mind spending this kind of money on a meal but, when we do, we expect better.

Overall, the experience was average. With all of the other options around the La Jolla area, we probably won't be returning. If you are interested in a 'special occation' dining experience, my recommendation would be the Marine Room. Time your dinner to high tide and you'll watch the waves break onto the ocean side windows.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cougguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent fish view slight guano issue”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The red crab and avocado ceviche was nice. Enjoyed real halibut with crab and pearl pasta and cream sauce very nice. Brought our own wine and Michael our waiter very accomodating.

Helpful?
Thank lleichtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great views from the window tables. Overlooking one of the La Jolla caves. Food wasn't bad but not excellent. Service was great,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaunV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What is there not to enjoy?”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

It's a gorgeous area to have dinner. My fiancé had the filet mignon w/ clam chowder and everyone at the table wished they would have got it too!

Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Catcher also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Crab Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing