We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab Catcher

Crab Catcher
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab Catcher is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cave St.
Transit: On Torrey Pines Road at Prospect Place, two blocks from the restaurant.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family has been going to Crab Catcher since the restaurant opened decades ago. Just went for an anniversary and was so disappointed. Made a reservation and told the woman who took it that this was a special occasion and we wanted a window. When we arrived, no window table. And they behaved as if I were crazy for expecting one. What's the point of making a reservation and telling them it's a special occasion, if you get whatever table is available when you arrive??!! The food was just OK. The waiter was in charge of too many tables, so we were reduced for asking the busboy for things. This is not what we've come to expect from Crab Catcher.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank seavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    216
    111
    44
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great views, good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The restaurant has a perfect location overlooking the ocean. There is a wide variety to choose from, seafood being the specialty. Overall, meals were overpriced for what you pay. My wife had a filet mignon that was less than average. My shrimp and pasta was good. Friends shared the seafood special and were pleased. Staff were attentive and pleasant. No rush to go back, though you pay for the fantastic view....it is Fantastic!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Clean place, excellent affordable food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Highly recommend this place. We've had the crab sandwich which we shared as its large. The chowder is delicious, hot and tasty, the cob sald with the chicken is a great healthy option. This place is so clean! And very affordable. You can eat inside or outside catching a few rays and looking at passers bye. The toilets are downstairs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bootscooter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprised by the reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our business group of six had a great evening. Lots of laughs, lots of great wine, very good food and very good service. The crab legs were about the best I've ever had. We enjoyed a variety of deserts at our table. The creme brulee was excellent. I would highly recommend the Crab Catcher.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G0_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Paid $50 for a $100 Groupon for Crab Catcher not knowing what to expect as we were heading to Cali on vacation. While were apparently a tad under-dressed (judging by the other guests' attire), we were warmly welcomed without a reservation and seated in the middle of the lower courtyard. Service throughout the meal was excellent and each of our meals (crab dinner, Chef's trio and seafood pasta) were well presented and sufficiently filling. With a shared salad and appetizer + a couple of glasses of wine and soft drinks the bill totalled $175 w/o tip and before Groupon discount. Sooo....perhaps a tad pricey from what we would normally choose, but given the location (La Jolla) we were entirely satisfied with the dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_D-man27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Catcher also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Crab Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing