We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and wonderful, with California out the front door!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dillon, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint and wonderful, with California out the front door!”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for an extended weekend to escape the snow of home. It was wonderful! The cottages are on the Historical List of San Diego, and they are quite amazing. Each has it's own name, and they are decorated in a way that defines West Coast cozy! They are right in the middle of downtown, but you won't know that sipping wine late at night on your porch under the jasmine! The landscaping is amazing, and you follow curvy sidewalks to your cottage. This place is a jewel in the hear of it all. Amazingly enough, our waiter at dinner hadn't heard of these darlings! You could drive past this property every day and never notice the hidden garden with it's cottages hidden in the back.

If you aren't looking for posh amenities, room service, glitz....this is the place to be. There was always parking either in the lot or on the street. Wonderful...I really enjoyed this trip, and Redwood Hollow definitely was the cherry on top!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoNitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    29
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

What a wonderful anomaly in the mist of high rises and high priced hotels. The gardens around our little cottage were beautiful and I fully expected to see elves or fairies scampering about in the ferns. The enclave is like an oasis in the area and the walk to the beach was pleasant , peaceful and quiet. Thanks to the people who had the foresight to save this little treasure for all of us to enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancelessons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Redwood Hollow cottages for two days last week. This was our third time here. We rented La Jolla Haven, which was spacious and comfy. We had a large outdoor patio with a table and portable grill. Just park your car. We walked to Whispering Sands Beach, which is about a block away. Because of a residential location, there were few people on the beach, making the ocean seem all ours. The walk to the village is either along a linear park with a sidewalk along the ocean, or also you can walk just 4 blocks up Prospect Street to find the shops. For what you are paying, you get alot of space in these cottages. The cottages are original and have not been modernized into vinyl window replacements or granite counters. I feel that this is their beauty. Don’t consider these cottages if the large chain hotels are your favorites, and you would not be comfortable staying anywhere else. This is for vacationers who want a truly unique experience and a feel for what was the original La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A friend and I just returned from Redwood Hollow, where we celebrated our birthdays. We stayed in the "Sea Bright" one bedroom cottage, which has a futon in the roomy living room in addition to the cute bedroom. The cottage was spacious, spotless and far more charming than the Internet could ever convey (we felt this way about the entire property, with its lush gardens and meandering pathways). It's like going to the Summer cottage/cabin of a friend or family member--sort of a hodge podge of furnishings, country charm (without going overboard), everything you need without "luxuries". I neither need nor want a butler to unpack my suitcase, I don't care about room service and I can make my own bed, thank you.

We were sold on the fact that we could cook--there is a full kitchen with all the things required to prepare a great meal. They provide cookware, plates, cups,glasses, etc., full stove/oven, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, filters, a basket of sweeteners, another basket with cookies, oatmeal, popcorn. There is a fridge and freezer. About 4 blocks away is Jonathans's gourmet grocery store or there is a Vons nearby, too.

There is no Air conditioning, but ceiling fans are in every room and there are lots of windows and doors for cross-ventilation. We even had a French door in the BATHROOM!

The cottages are self-catering and a good assortment of sheets, towels, etc, are available. Each has a fireplace (wood-burning), and you have your own address and phone number should you be on an extended stay (which is tempting!). There is a coin-op laundry facility on the premises and also a shared patio with a BBQ. Each cottage also has its own little patio with table and chairs as well as chairs in the front porches from which to enjoy the gardens.

Redwood Hollow is in the quiet, residential section of the village, walking distance to all the hustle and bustle, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep with only the sounds of waves and seagulls. It is just a couple of blocks to the beach and you can walk to any number of beaches, coves or to The Cave or to see the seals at the former children's pool. Just park your car and walk. The hills are great exercise! You are also very close walking distance (4-5 blocks) from The Cottage restaurant (do not miss it!), Extreme Pizza, Tapenade and Burgundy. Happy hour at Burgundy is the hot ticket, with wines by the glass $3 off regular price and all appetizers at $9. Dinners are so-so. Extreme Pizza is great, too.

The "main drag" of Prospect Street is just about a half to three-quarters of a mile away. There, you will find shops and galleries galore, as well as the big hotels and popular restaurants. You can walk along the coast the whole way and then cut up to Prospect.

Michelle, the innkeeper, is lovely and accommodating. What a sweetheart! She is the icing on an already good cake.

We can't wait to return in the Winter and use the fireplace.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NativeCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Although the cottages are not on the beach, they are within a 5 minute walk along a colorful, residential street. Beach is sand and interesting rock with lots of surfers nearby. The cottage (ours was called La Jolla Haven) is within a colorful garden with white picket fence around the private brick courtyard. BBQ, patio table and chairs for your private use and a lovely covered porch with 2 wicker rocking chairs. (see pic) As an historical building, the interior of the cottage is 1920's wood paneling and floors. All rooms have several windows - bright and airy !
Rooms were very well equipped for our needs with lots of extra blankets, pillows, towels, incidentals, etc. Bathroom is between by 2 large bedrooms with great, comfy beds. Dining room/livingroom are spacious with comfortable furniture, wood burning fireplace (we used it twice and it was perfect when the evenings were cool) a tv, books and radio. The eat-in kitchen is bright and spacious with micro-wave, gas stove and large fridge. Plenty of utensils for anyone's needs. Both the kitchen and livingroom walk out to the enclosed patio/porch area.
We found the cottages to be a perfect home base for our jaunts to San Diego, beaches, etc. Many restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Laundry facilities on site.
We found the price to be very reasonable and the overall accommodation terrific. Only negative in our opinion was that the rear view was of other buildings - but the private courtyard made up for it and we weren't indoors much anyways.
I believe this is the only 'private and separate' cottage as the others appear to be 1 or 2 rooms only with a shared patio area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chris627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

i went to la jolla with my dad for spring break. we stayed at redwood hollow and it was great!! the cottages are very pretty and cozy. on a quiet night you could hear the waves crashing on the shore!! it was in walking distance to seal beach (wear there are hundreds of seals all year) and the village with food and shopping!! i cannot wait to go back to redwood hollow and enjoy another great vacation!! (:

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank malibu_boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Took two teens over spring break. We loved the space of the two-bedroom cottage, the private patio, and the comforts of home. The cottages all have privacy, and the landscaping is beautiful.

The location is about a hundred yards from the beach, a short walk from the seal pond, and less than 30 seconds from the path that goes straight up the coastline.

Affordable too, will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Split_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.7 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
948 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.7 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages

Property: Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages
Address: 256 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4672
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Hollow Cottages is a historic garden oasis 400 feet from a sandy beach in La Jolla Village. We have studios, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom separate cottages. Most have full kitchens, and some have wood burning fireplaces. All cottages have individual Internet connections and their own Wi-Fi reception. We are in a quiet residential location set on 1/2 acre of gardens. The Village with shops and restaurants is four blocks away. We welcome you to our charming hotel alternative in America's Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing