We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$197
$178
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
$160
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$116
$105
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$325
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$155
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$397
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$490
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
72
32
5
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
32
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhispering sandseach cottageprivate courtyardshort walk to the beachsound of the wavescharming propertyfive minute walkwalking distance to everythingperfect locationqueen bedeach morningstayed nightswould stay againfull kitchenprivacypatioocean
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 113 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2017

We recently stayed in the pricey 3-BR "cottage" here. First of all, the term cottage, to me, seems like a self-contained house. Unfortunately, that was not the case here, and a large extended family shared a 2BR which was directly OVER our unit. These places are not well insulated, and we heard EVERYTHING! They rose at 6:30 AM and went to sleep no earlier than 10:30. We were on vacation, and that to us means peace and quiet. I feel strongly that this rental was misrepresented by not presenting the place as it was.

Secondly, on one of our first days here, the refrigerator went out and water leaked all over the kitchen, not to mention that our food was spoiled. They gave us the use of another refrigerator in another unit, but that was incredibly inconvenient. We had no refrigerator for 2 1/2 days, having to eat out all that time, and incurring some expense. They compensated us minimally for this inconvenience.

Lastly, we noticed that there were no smoke detectors in the bedrooms. Once we told them, they had them installed, but that does not bode well with regard to safety and maintenance.

Also, parking on the street was tough, and the minimal pkg they offer is on a very steep downslope, and pulling the car out onto the street was difficult.

Certainly the block was well located, and the unit was charmingly furnished, but I don't see us ever going back here.

Room Tip: make sure that the "cottage" you're renting does not have a unit above!
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank samson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

I recently stayed in the Redwood Hollow cottages for the first time, based on a recommendation from a friend; my oldest is attending UCSD, so I thought I would check it out. I stayed in the one bedroom Wisteria cottage and it was lovely! This is a beautiful group of cottages, originally built in 1915, and updated over the years while keeping their "old school" California charm. Our cottage was very spacious and comfortable - it has a fold out couch, but we ended up not using it. We didn't really use the kitchen, but it was well stocked. Wifi and TV worked perfectly. Cottage itself is rustic (which I loved!) with very upscale (some old/some new) furnishings and decorations. Table was large, seated 4 and was great to work on. The cottage has a lovely patio (available for use to all that stay on the property) with cushioned furniture and even in January, it was warm enough to use during the day. The landscaping is pretty luscious and offers privacy amongst the cottages. The location is outstanding! Walkable to a lot of La Jolla Village and very close to the beach. Staff was wonderfully accommodating - called me to let me know my room was available early for check in. I was also able to see the two 2 BDR cottages (La Jolla Haven and Ocean Ridge), upon request, because I definitely plan to bring back extended family. This is a great spot for multiple families to stay for vacations, weddings or graduation. Parking is a little tricky - there are only three spots down the short steep driveway, so we had to park on the street; not really an issue, but just be aware you have to wheel your suitcases in. This does not have resort amenities - there are large chains in the area that offer those, but if you are looking for a charming and comfortable property in a great location to walk to restaurants, coffee and local culture, this is an excellent spot! Wisteria cottage was quiet - set back from the street and tucked back behind the patio - a perfect get away!

Room Tip: Check out Pannikin Coffee & Tea and breakfast/brunch at "The Cottage"
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Hollow C, Manager at Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Hello Lisa! Thank you so much for your sweet review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you come again while visiting your daughter at UCSD. Please feel free to give us a call in the office at any time to assist with future reservations.
Kindly,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Tucked away amongst modern buildings beautifully furnished Cottages with tropical foliage. Peaceful & comfortable. Close to the ocean and town! A great trip around San Diego!
Check out the seals at La Jolla Cove
Recommend eating in the Gaslamp district! Meza restaurant & Chocolat Cremerie for dessert a must.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Hollow C, Manager at Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hello Amy! Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to La Jolla. We appreciate your business and love getting restaurant recommendations to pass along to future guests.

Take care,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

We stayed at Redwood Hollow for four days between Christmas and New Year's. It was a great birthday celebration for my husband. Accommodations were good in our studio apartment with comfortable bed and adequate kitchen for breakfasts there. We walked a lot each day, to the beach, to the town, to meals and just for the fun of it-- averaged 4-5 miles a day. It was lovely to sit outside on the patio for drinks before dinner, and we could hear the ocean from our room with the window cracked.

The binder in the room was very informative and we ate at several of the recommended restaurants. They were all good but pricey--to be expected in La Jolla. Favorite unexpected place was the Taco Stand--fabulous tacos and really reasonable prices.

If we ever get back to La Jolla we will stay there again. My only comment is that the office doesn't open until 10, and some of the staff there didn't seem to know much about the area.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissasI3290WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Hollow C, Manager at Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hello Melissa! Thank you very much for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am happy that you were able to walk to and enjoy all that the Village of La Jolla has to offer. Our location being so close to the ocean, shops and restaurants is a big plus. Once you're here, you can walk to nearly everything.

Regarding our office hours, we did have some adjusted hours during the holidays, but our standard hours are 9:00-5:30 weekdays, and 10:00-4:30 on Saturday. Our office is generally closed on Sunday, but when necessary we do come in for a few hours to prepare for guest arrivals. We are always available by phone as well.

We're so happy that your husband had a wonderful birthday, and we wish him many more. Please come again!

Kindly,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Location is outstanding. Overall nice, clean, helpful staff - but missing quite a bit. I would absolutely not recommend this as a place to stay with kids. There is NOT a shower in the master bathroom - and the only tub is lacking a plug - but worse, the paint is peeling off the inside of the tub. Not just a little bit here and there - ALOT. Self serve laundry is offered, but difficult to use because it is primarily used by the maids. There are only 3 parking spaces - otherwise you are on your own but they do tell you that upfront.The heat is practically non existent (needed in Dec./Jan.), however they offer space heaters... one of which is broken (UNSAFE). If you are used to dishwashers, maid service, extra bedding or any kind of accommodations for kids - this is not the place...

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Hollow C, Manager at Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We do find it helpful when guests are not completely satisfied so we can make any adjustments and corrections where needed. You are correct that there is not a shower in the master bathroom, and we don't advertise as such. This particular cottage has 2 bathrooms, one of which has a shower, and the other bathtub only. The plug for the tub is under the bath cabinet, you might have overlooked it. Based on your suggestion, I have already contracted to have the bathtub refinished at our first opportunity.

We have 2 laundry rooms on the property and guests are welcome to use either one. During the holiday we were extremely busy turning over the cottages for incoming guests but our housekeepers are usually done by late morning or early afternoon. Extra bedding and linens are located in linen closets of each cottage.

The wall furnace in your cottage is usually sufficient as our location in Southern California does not require much in the way of heat, but we have had an extremely cold winter this year. In cases like this year, we do keep space heaters and extra blankets in the cottages. I have replaced the one space heater that was reported as broken.

We appreciate your suggestions and do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

The Redwood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews