We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air...”

Harry's Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 61 Coffee & Tea in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Harry’s is a breath of fresh air—a wonderfully unpretentious old-time coffee shop in fancy-schmancy La Jolla. It’s the kind of place where the waitresses call you “Hon” and actually seem interested in making sure you’re happy with your meal.

Harry’s has a huge, diverse breakfast menu with everything from creamed chip beef to a lox and bagel plate. Pecan pancakes were especially scrumptious. The corned beef was more potatoes than beef, but it was still flavorful.

Good food, friendly atmosphere, nice people, fun place. I’ll go back every time I’m in La Jolla.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charlie8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    86
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic Diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stopped in for lunch, we ordered a chicken and a tuna green salad. Everything was perfect and VERY fresh. Staff was friendly and the place was very clean. You really can't go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trav115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast but can be healthy if you want that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We ate at Harry's on 12/23/10 and found it truly excellent. I had a veggie omelette and my husband had French Toast, both way above average. The place was packed but we were served within seven minutes and enjoyed very good coffee while we waited. The manager came around to see if everything was OK and topped off our coffee cups. He was a reall charmer and took the time to find out where we were from and told us how to find "the cave" that has steps down to the ocean from inside a gift shop. We love this place and will be back!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OLD FASHIONED COFFEE SHOP THAT NEVER DISAPPOINTS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have driven past this old place many, many times and never stopped. This trip, however, the smell of frying bacon snared our nostrils as we went by with the top down. I couldn't turn around fast enough! Boy, I'm glad I did. This is a hidden gem in the midst of La Jolla village...an old fashioned coffee shop/deli type of place with good, home style cooking, friendly service and an extensive menu for any type of meal you desire.

We had breakfast and everything we ordered was great...sausage, bacon, waffles, pancakes, eggs, toast...all prepared properly, with no fuss, and at fair prices. Next time in town we will definitely eat here often.

Oh, we sat outside on the small sidewalk patio...a bit noisey from passing traffic, but charming, nonetheless. Highly recommend Harry's to all travelers. The locals already know how good it is!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaneInVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Treated like locals; great food & great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We found Harry's to be a home away from home. The food was great. The service was great. Everything looked and tasted great from the fruit, bacon, eggs to the burger and chocolate shake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doves8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Coffee Shop also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Harry's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing