We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best veal chop ever”

Manhattan of La Jolla
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan of La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Silverado Street
Description: Manhattan of La Jolla transports you to the best of New York via the cozy, upscale village of La Jolla. Located in the Empress Hotel on Fay Avenue, it is an elegant, casual and classy place where you would expect to see Old Blue Eyes or Danny Ocean romancing a beautiful woman while she sips her Cosmo over dinner. With quality Italian charm, Manhattan offers classic cocktails that get you into that New York swing--and the entrees are as good as it gets. Liberal olive oil, garlic, lemon and pepper complement the Zagat Award winning veal chop, steaks and seafood. Signature scampi, classic cannelloni, pasta al dente, and other succulent dishes, plus professional service and decor make this a terrific spot for a romantic dinner or mixing business and pleasure. Manhattan in La Jolla gets you the best of both worlds. Manhattan is an award winning La Jolla favorite, celebrating its 25th year.
San Diego
Level Contributor
196 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best veal chop ever”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Over the last couple of years this has become our go to restaurant for a great night out. First off we love the atmosphere, the people watching, the piano bar and of course the food. Short and to the point the veal chop is to die for. The service has always been great. It can get noisy but that is to be expected as people enjoy their time here. Not a place to bring little kids.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoy our veal chop, service, and lively atmosphere. Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    59
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had an early dinner and were impressed with the reserved, old world decor of this restaurant as well as the exquisite service. The food was very good but there is an over abundance of garlic in most of the food - and we are garlic lovers. All in all, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. I’m thrilled your experience was a positive one and I look forward to seeing you back at Manhattan of La Jolla the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal to top off a great weekend in SD”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My bf and I were hoping to find a good Italian restaurant while in la jolla and were very happy we found this one. The service was great and they really made us feel like VIPs. The food was great all the way around and had a nice wine menu. My bf fell in love with the filet mignon. For dessert I had the cannelloni which was to die for. A lil pricy but totes worth it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for the kind words Lauren! We are thrilled to hear that your experience with us was a very positive one. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Filet Mignon and Service in La Jolla”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I read about this place on the internet. The food was excellent in preparation and beautifully delivered. They used lots of garlic, which I love! I totally enjoyed my eggplant rattatoni. So delicious. My husband had the Filet Mignon that he shared with me. The prices are worth every penny. It's dark in there, very romantice. Lots of senior citiens, but who cares. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Hi Ana, thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed the filet mignon and the eggplant rollatini. Next time you are in town make sure to try the cannelloni and our Zagat Award winning veal chop. We are sure you will love it! Looking forward to seeing you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We Added this Restaurant to Our Favorites List”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Last Saturday night was our third or fourth visit. This is a top-notch, friendly, very well-run restaurant with excellent food. The décor is outstanding, low lighting, lovely paintings on the walls and a nice piano bar. We split the Veal Piccata which was delicious. We also split the grandiose banana vanilla ice cream sundae which was yummy. Service was exemplary. It is clear that this restaurant has a lot of regular patrons, which is a very positive sign. Although it is not close to where we live we plan to visit as often as possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review and continuous support. We are very fortunate to have customers like you and your wife. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan of La Jolla also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Manhattan of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing