We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Added this Restaurant to Our Favorites List”

Manhattan of La Jolla
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan of La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Silverado Street
Description: Manhattan of La Jolla transports you to the best of New York via the cozy, upscale village of La Jolla. Located in the Empress Hotel on Fay Avenue, it is an elegant, casual and classy place where you would expect to see Old Blue Eyes or Danny Ocean romancing a beautiful woman while she sips her Cosmo over dinner. With quality Italian charm, Manhattan offers classic cocktails that get you into that New York swing--and the entrees are as good as it gets. Liberal olive oil, garlic, lemon and pepper complement the Zagat Award winning veal chop, steaks and seafood. Signature scampi, classic cannelloni, pasta al dente, and other succulent dishes, plus professional service and decor make this a terrific spot for a romantic dinner or mixing business and pleasure. Manhattan in La Jolla gets you the best of both worlds. Manhattan is an award winning La Jolla favorite, celebrating its 25th year.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Last Saturday night was our third or fourth visit. This is a top-notch, friendly, very well-run restaurant with excellent food. The décor is outstanding, low lighting, lovely paintings on the walls and a nice piano bar. We split the Veal Piccata which was delicious. We also split the grandiose banana vanilla ice cream sundae which was yummy. Service was exemplary. It is clear that this restaurant has a lot of regular patrons, which is a very positive sign. Although it is not close to where we live we plan to visit as often as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank parkinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review and continuous support. We are very fortunate to have customers like you and your wife. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Manhattan of La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 197 of 279 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had an incredible family celebration at Manhattan! From the minute we entered the treatment was first rate and the service exceptional. Nothing was spared in making our experience as enjoyable as possible! The food was outstanding and well worth the cost, with every course enjoyed as our party of 9 (including kids - who were served with extra attention) had a range of food that was thoroughly devoured! We contemplated going a second time if we felt we didn't jinx this experience and not live up to to our incredible first outing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Dear Johnny, we are thrilled to hear you had an incredible experience when visiting Manhattan of La Jolla. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We read the reviews and thought this place would be a good spot for us to enjoy some Italian food whilst in La Jolla. We were wrong. We ordered the carpaccio to start which arrived with grated cheddar instead of Parmesan. The zucchini fritters were good. We all ordered pasta for entrees and it was all very bland. We asked for some grated Parmesan and the waiter left us with a boat of it. It had no taste whatsoever. Felt more like the stuff you get in a canister that lasts forever in your cupboard at home than fresh Parmesan. The service was a little intense with two bus men hovering almost constantly and neither spoke English very well (assume they are Italian?). We ordered two deserts and the waiter told us he wanted us to try the homemade cheesecake as it was so good, we were very thankful to him. It then appeared on our check! Once the meals were complete the intense service went on strike and it took us 15 mins to get our check, there were only three other tables with folks eating, so couldn't be a rush.

The wine menu is decent and has some good value on it.

Overall this place is very old school Italian, dark and honestly incredibly dated. Italian food doesn't have to be bland (it never has been for me) and they don't even have lasagne on the menu.

Avoid this place as it isn't cheap and the food isn't worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was exceptional. We started with a cannelloni and a creamy lobster bisque. We would return just for the cannelloni. The rest of the meal was also very good. The waiters were very knowledgable and helpful with wine selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Dear Steve,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our lobster bisque and cannelloni and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I are natives and dined at Manhattan last weekend. We loved the food and the waiters in tuxedos were polished. The best part was the guy singing 80's tunes and the fun dancing. Nice mix of ages and the atmosphere reminded us of the Palm Desert "Nest" (Sinatra
tunes in the happening piano bar). We will be back...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review Leslie. We look forward to seeing you again for some more Frank Sinatra tunes soon! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan of La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Manhattan of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing