We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salmon Ever”

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by Executive Chef Jason Knibb and Pastry Chef Jose Alonzo III, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or outdoor terrace with glimpses of the ocean. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly. Sunday Brunch is also offered.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best Salmon Ever”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I chose the salmon dish and it was truly one of the meals of my life. It was served with morel mushrooms, which I wasn't familiar with, but OMG what flavor! The chef cooks the salmon medium rare, again I wasn't familiar with this degree of fineness, but it was outstanding. It was accompanied by some delicious corn and some puréed veggies. The chef, Jason, was recently named best hotel chef in San Diego, quite an accomplishment in a metro are with more than 3 million residents. The wine was superb. In lieu of a sweet dessert. I selected one of the four available cheeses- "Bermuda Triangle," which was divine, served with warm crostini. An amazing meal. This is a stunning example of farm-to-table with locally sourced and very fresh ingredients.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Karen - I couldn't be more pleased to read your review about your recent dining experience with us. On behalf of our entire staff, I thank you for the very kind comments about your meal. I will certainly pass along your comments to our acclaimed chef, Jason Knibb (who yes indeed was just named San Diego's "Chef of the Year" by the California Restaurant Association). We are very lucky to have him. I hope the next time you are out this way from Virginia, you will make the time to stop by. We'd love to have you back. Thank you again, Summer Haines, Director of Food & Beverage and Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    130
    37
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A truly memorable meal by an experienced, creative chef. Don't pass this up because it's a 'hotel" restaurant. I'm an ex chef and food columnist, and this was as well prepared a meal as I've had...anywhere. All eight of the foodies at our table raved about it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Tom - I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner at NINE-TEN. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I'm glad that came through for you and your guests (who clearly know good food when they find it). Since your visit, I'm happy to announce that Chef Jason Knibb was named San Diego's 2014 "Chef of the Year" by the California Restaurant Association. He is certainly an accomplished chef recognized nationally for his creativity and artistry. We hope to have you back again soon. Best, Summer Haines, Director of Food & Beverage and Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely breakfast”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We enjoyed several wonderful breakfast at Nine-Ten. I would recommend the short rib hash, the lemon pancakes and even their oatmeal was great!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KMS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear KMS07: Thank you for your comments about your recent dining experience at NINE-TEN. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed our breakfast. The short rib hash is one of our signature breakfast dishes and one of my personal favorites. I hope you'll have the chance to come back and try us out for dinner. Thank you again. Chef Jason Knibb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, bit expensive.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Read some other reviews, that said they left hungry. That didn't happen with us how ever to combat that we ordered more food. Made the dinner more expensive. Spare ribs were very tasty, I would have been happier with a couple more chunks of meat, but we were full. Thierry was wonderful. Great service!

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sean. Thanks so much for taking the time to dine at NINE-TEN during your recent trip from Washington. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. The short ribs is one of our signature dishes! I also appreciate your comment about Thierry. He is one of the best in the business and we're lucky to have him. Hope you'll be back. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every Restaurant Has a Bad Night”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Unfortunately, we hit Nine-Ten on one of those nights. We've eaten there many times before and had wonderful food and service. This time not so much. Food was good but small portions especially for two big guys. Service was slow and our waiter seemed overbooked. It's a gorgeous restaurant and hotel and we'll surely go back but they needed to up their game that night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Toria -
First off, allow me to thank you for your continued support and patronage of NINE-TEN. We appreciate your loyalty. I also thank you for taking time to post your feedback about your most recent dining experience. Needless to say, it's not the kind of impression we wish to leave on our guests (as you can attest to prior visits). I am happy that you are willing to give us another try and I trust we will knock your socks off again. Meanwhile, please know that I am addressing your concerns with our entire team to ensure we get and stay on the track NINE-TEN is so well known for. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing