We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and drink, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by Executive Chef Jason Knibb and Pastry Chef Jose Alonzo III, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or outdoor terrace with glimpses of the ocean. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly. Sunday Brunch is also offered.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food and drink, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had after meeting business drinks here during our stay and the staff was alway friendly and on top of things. The wait time to get a drink was short, the food was good, and the atmosphere is enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dsmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear dsmaddox - So glad to hear you had time to stop by for drinks while traveling on business here in La Jolla. Thanks for taking the time to provide such positive feedback about our staff, service and food. I hope the next time you visit from Texas you'll have the opportunity to stay for dinner and truly experience all the NINE-TEN has to offer. Until then - Summer Haines, Manager & Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    127
    36
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service, & wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Third time dining here and each experience has been nothing short of fabulous. The food is meticulously prepared, fresh, and flavorful. They have accommodated dietary restrictions and preferences among members of our party each time while maintaining their commitment to the highest quality standards. The service has been impeccable each visit. We had an especially nice experience with Thiery as our waiter. On our most recent visit we opted for the 3-course menu with wine pairings that's currently being offered but even with that approach they were extremely flexible and accommodating of our personal preferences. Highly recommend Nine-Ten!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank markeltawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Manager & Sommelier at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Markeltawil: I am so grateful to you for such positive comments you posted about your recent dining experience. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, ambiance and service, particularly the service you received from Thierry. We take great pride in the service our staff provides. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to your fourth visit! Sincerely, Summer Haines, Manager & Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
550 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great place for breakfast. The lemon ricotta pancakes were some of the best I have ever had. The short rib hash was really good too.

We had a terrific view from the outside patio.

We were a group of 6 and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Mark was our server. He took great care of us. Very friendly and efficient.

Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Manager & Sommelier at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear christyreznor02: Thank you for the feedback you provided about your recent breakfast here at NINE-TEN. I'm really glad to read your comments about your server, Mark, and will be sure to pass that along to him. I'm glad you and your guests had the chance to enjoy our outdoor terrace. The weather has been so brilliant these past few weeks so I'm glad you were able to take advantage of that. Hope to see you back soon. Summer Haines, Manager & Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Classy selections beautifully presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I think I could eat at this first class restaurant every night for a month! The chef has developed beautiful presentations of his food, and very eclectic selections and combinations. I had the baby greens salad, the baquetta sea bass special, and a dessert with two different sorbets and meringue. Definately a treat, and not to be missed. Attentive and knowledgeable servers assist with selection. Great place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear agbowden - thank you so much for your positive comments about your recent dinner at NINE-TEN. I take great pride in presenting very clean, simple (yet still elegant) food using only the best products from the local harvest. And our Pastry Chef, Rachel King, has that same philosophy when creating her desserts. Thank you again and come back and see us again soon. Jason Knibb, Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset dining delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose 910 after reading a favorable mention in the SD Moon Guidebook. Got a seat on the terrace, with a smashing view of the sun setting over the Pacific. Pleasantly attentive service. Lots of farm-to-table delights, including a beet salad and short ribs that were out of this world. Not cheap, but I have a feeling there isn't much in La Jolla that is. Left with a happy satisfied glow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing