We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by Executive Chef Jason Knibb and Pastry Chef Jose Alonzo III, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or outdoor terrace with glimpses of the ocean. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly. Sunday Brunch is also offered.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Food is good, I like their happy hour. Parking is always a pain in downtown LJ though. Good place to meet friends for hh.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank artichoke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Artichoke78: Thanks for taking the time to post comments about NINE-TEN. I'm glad to hear you enjoy our Happy Hour. I'm sorry about the limited parking you are able to find here in La Jolla. Just know that we do offer valet parking for just $5 per car with validation. Compared to other hotels/restaurants here in the Village, it's the best deal in town. Hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Neal Wasserman, Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    130
    37
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent dinner and great service! Absolutely loved the wine paring choices our server made for us. We will return and next time we want to try the chef's choice menu option.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K9frisbeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear K9frisbeetraveler. I appreciate you taking the time to post your positive feedback about your recent visit to NINE-TEN. I do hope you will come back and see us again soon and take advantage of our "Mercy of the Chef" dinner. It's always fun for me to get creative and surprise guests with their five courses and I would welcome the opportunity to do that for you. Thanks again. Executive Chef, Jason Knibb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Salmon”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has terrific food! The place is relaxing and the service is very good. Only drawback was that it was very warm - they scrimp on the a/c.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdmjrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and service”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The food was delicious - from the truffle gnocchi appetizer to the lamb loin main. Service was excellent, charming and unobtrusive for a large party of 8. Would recommend this place for foodies and wine enthusiasts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylviaZ180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfect Engagement Dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the 3 course "Garden Menu", where you chose from the starter's and entree menu, as well as from the dessert menu. For an additional 20$, each course was accompanied by a well matched wine, selected by the knowledgable waiter/sommelier. Every single dish we had was splendid.

Helpful?
Thank Haffelpaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing