We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful relaxing view ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cody's

Cody's
Ranked #9 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cody's La Jolla is a casual, all american seaside restaurant. Enjoy a fabulous brunch on our ocean view patio with friends while sipping one of our famous champagne spritzers. Known for our french toast, benedicts, lobster roll and fish and chips, Cody's has built a loyal following of locals and tourists alike. Visit us today to experience for yourself!
La Vernia, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing view ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Sit outside for the view of the pacific and La Jolla Cove. The food was unique and flavorful. We had the burger, fish tacos and the fish and chips. None were best ever but good food. The fries were a little greasy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    259
    72
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best place for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cody's had that small mom & pop feel to it. The food was excellent and the portions were very good. Indoor and outdoor seating is available, the wait can be a bit long. But id rather go to a restaurant that's busy than one that isn't. there's a reason it's busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank captE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
352 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Light tempura style battered fish, not one bit greasy. The hand cut fries were crisp and tasty. I wasn't crazy about the coleslaw, it lacked flavor. The tartar and sweet chile sauces were excellent. One order was plenty for the two of us and the kitchen split it nicely between two plates. The omelets served to a table near us looked wonderful! It's a bit tough finding a place to park in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great spot for watching the world go by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this gem while walking around La Jolla.
We received a warm welcome and were asked to choose where we wanted to sit. We chose a great spot outside in the sunshine.
The "bubbly" section of the drinks menu is wonderful. I had a refreshing Lemon and Thyme Spritzer and my partner had a White Wine Sangria. Both were served in what can only be described as jam jars! A really original touch. They were both so refreshing.
We shared a snack of crab cakes which were wonderful.
Great service, nice location, and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined here for breakfast on a Sun am. We only waited less than 10 mins for patio seating w view of cove. Food was great Crab Benedict, Kids French toast was huge and my husband enjoyed some huevos w hot sauce. Quaint atmosphere and great service - it was kid friendly yet trendy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2141Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing