We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”
Review of Cody's

Cody's
Ranked #9 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cody's La Jolla is a casual, all american seaside restaurant. Enjoy a fabulous brunch on our ocean view patio with friends while sipping one of our famous champagne spritzers. Known for our french toast, benedicts, lobster roll and fish and chips, Cody's has built a loyal following of locals and tourists alike. Visit us today to experience for yourself!
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Given the great reviews, we made sure to stop by Cody's for lunch. We sat outside on the patio which was very comfortable and had a relaxed ambiance. We ordered the grilled chicken sandwich with bacon, the mahi mahi tacos and the hamburger. The price range per sandwich was between $12-14. The mahi mahi tacos were excellent, the hamburger and chicken sandwich were good. Given the reputation and price, I expected more as the burger and chicken sandwich with bacon didn't wow me. Fries were excellent.

Service was OK. The waitress didn't mention the lobster roll special which I would have ordered had I known about it. I saw it on the board as I was leaving the restaurant.

Overall, the location and views are terrific. The experience (food & service) were satisfactory. A solid 4-stars.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cami214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    272
    77
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Terrific food and view”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we had to try Cody's. it is extremely popular but we were fortunate to be able to see the patio from our hotel room and could tell when there didn't seem to be a line. We shared the Awesome French Toast (it truly was!) and a beautiful fruit bowl with granola and yogurt. This was the best French toast that I have ever had. The fruit bowl was fresh, delicious and colorful (the reason for the "beautiful" description). We ate on the patio with a view of the ocean and were entertained by the manager's dog. He was wearing a Cosy's sweatshirt and was so adorable. Can't wait to return!

Helpful?
1 Thank wagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“top place for brunch”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great view, great service and food. Fabulous experience seating on the sunshine outside with the perfect view. Lobster roll for 19$ was great as well as pomegranate mimosa. Excellent :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank augusta_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast experience!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We sat at a table outside where we could see the ocean and what a beautiful day! The food was delicious, wait staff great and the view, wonderful! Will go back on our next trip to La Jolla

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella2006_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I can't rave enough!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an excellent lunch at this small restaurantm, on the way down to the beach. We walked passed it twice and then finally went in as a particular table on the patio took our fancy. If only we'd realized how good the food would be! Lobster salad roll was the highlight but everything was delicious. The waiting staff were so friendly that we sat longer and ate more than we planned to, so well done them. I will be recommending this place to anyone who will listen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianJonestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing