We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cody's

Cody's
Ranked #9 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cody's La Jolla is a casual, all american seaside restaurant. Enjoy a fabulous brunch on our ocean view patio with friends while sipping one of our famous champagne spritzers. Known for our french toast, benedicts, lobster roll and fish and chips, Cody's has built a loyal following of locals and tourists alike. Visit us today to experience for yourself!
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Trendy, well decorated and located with a great view of ocean. Breakfast was great, fresh with trendy gourmet accents. Well priced and a relaxing setting. Try the French Toast! Fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank evasgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    259
    72
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

my friend and i thoroughly enjoyed our lobster sandwiches. it was divine. the outdoor seating was great especially with the nice view.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bake6259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Run-of-the-mill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

There was nothing inherently wrong with Cody's - in so far as the service was friendly, the food was sufficiently filling and the view pleasing, but equally it was unexceptional. Two of us dined and we agreed that the food lacked flavour. The Mahi Mahi tacos were guilty of being under seasoned, flavourless and just bland. I know that the fish can be bland - so what is the kitchen doing to address that? The grilled chicken sandwich was better, but again unexceptional.
Given how many great places there are to eat locally, this place can only rest on its laurels for so long. No.1 in La Jolla - I doubt that.
That said everyone was polite and it's a charming place. I would go back, but not before I had tried everywhere else first as I am sure this isn't the best La Jolla has to offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StottieToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“When everything looks so good, how do you decide what to order?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cody's is very popular–justifiably so. Everything on the menu looks so delicious, it's almost impossible to decide what to eat. I'm a huge brunch fan, so I went for the special Mexican brunch dish with tortillas, eggs, beans, and a yummy salsa. Awesome. Next time I a going for the french toast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“I understand why it's Number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place had the best breakfast I ate during my 1 week stay in Southern California. Fresh food, great service, and what a cool location in an old house! They also have great mimosas :) try it out you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing