We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Italian”
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #168 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
La Jolla
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We really like this restaurant. The food is very good & has consistantly been good for years. The banana cake is incredible! Love to sit outside when the weather is warm. A little slice of Italy in La Jolla.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Americanized Italian”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Americanized Italian but wrapped up in a cute little package. The location and feel is reminiscent of the small charming eateries in Carmel and aesthetically it serves to elevate the food (which is just okay). Think Olive Garden style fare-satisfying generous portions of generic food that you can't possibly finish.
Service is good (not superb however considering the seating capacity). Inside is small cozy cute and warm-actually a bit too warm on a hot Summer evening and outdoors is pleasantly set with a handful of tables enhanced by a squiggle of rope lights, candles etc.. It gives the oooooo "lets go there" curb appeal to those passing by. Housemade Sausage was ok but I wouldn't order it again-not much flavor. Course sizes are large and not really designed for a traditional dining experience..antipasti, primi, secondi, contorno, dolci...It's the antithesis to quanto basta!! Kitchen isn't shy about drowning the plates with sauce.
The price/value here is good due to portion size but most of the dishes here could be replicated at home by an average home cook. Desserts are very good and worth sharing an Entree just to save room for the true stars of the Menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This restaurant has the feel of a small European bistro. We sat on the patio in privacy. The pasta was cooked just right and my husband is particular because he's Italian. I asked for pesto instead of marinara sauce and the chef happily obliged. My only question is serving the wine in a juice glass.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Parmesan Crusted Chicken Rules”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

There are many things that make La Taverna a nice Italian restaurant, but it is Mary Ann Vitale's Parmesan Crusted Chicken that beckons many locals back. The menu usually has specials and we have never eaten anything we haven't liked: soups, salads, gnocchi, veal, pasta, sausage, risotto. Love the eggplant stack! If there is coconut cake for dessert, don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but still delightful!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I visited La Taverna for the first time last night. We arrived early so seating was no problem. We opted to sit inside, and because of the early hour service was prompt and graciously provided by Monique. Our dinner, salad, wine and dessert were all above par and as described on the menu. (Try the Banana Cake, their specialty dessert.)

As the evening wore on, Taverna filled up and Monique had to hustle to keep up, but it appeared that everyone was taken care of and served promptly. The only negative was the music was a little loud. However Monique adjusted it to a more suitable level when the subject was brought up.

We'll be back next time we're in La Jolla..

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TalosGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing