We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tappas ever!”
Review of Roppongi - CLOSED

Roppongi
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fay
South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best tappas ever!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Probably one of the best tapas we've had - was excellent! Great meal given the 'happy hour' prices (half price tapas which are usually c. $15 ea - before 6pm) - would have been expensive otherwise. Each tapas dish we had was exceptional -the japansese hot rock was something different to try (cook your thin steak on a 'hot rock'). Cappuccinos at $5 a piece felt on the pricey side. Cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadillac555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    74
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday happy hour all day”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Happy hour is great - 1/2 price on appetizers. Crab stack is delicious. Also try the scallops and the ahi. Delicious. Great atmosphere. Nice patio with heaters and outdoor space with firepit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vkrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New Taste Experiences”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We met friends for drinks and Tapas at Roppongi's. The inside decor is very upscale and comfortable. The outside seating offers comfy couches around a fire pit. The decor alone offers a very unique dining experience. Then we get to the food.
We sampled several new taste sensations. - Duck Quesadillas, Crab Stack and Seared scallops on potato pancakes to name a few. The tapas were very good. Everything was fresh and delicious and the presentation was beautiful.
We just happened to be there during Happy Hour when the tapas are half price. This made the overall experience very enjoyable. I don't believe the tapas we had would have been worth the full menu price as the portions were quite small. I would recommend this restaurant based on the food quality but would caution about the prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bimmer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Unique Food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been to Roppongi a few times and it consistently impresses. The interior decor is intimate, but being in San Diego, there is always the option to sit outside either along the street or around the huge fire pit. All three are great depending on for what you are looking.

The food, as I stated in the title, is unique. There is a huge variety of appetizers and main dishes that are generally a blend of interesting ingredients in variations of common Asian and Continental items. The results are fantastic and well worth repeat visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“an enjoyable place to go for happy hour dinner”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I love to go to a matinee show or movie and then go to Roppongi for "linner"- a combination of lunch and dinner. Roppongi has a terrific happy hour menu and great cocktails so anyone's appetities can be satisfied. We often go with at least 1 other couple so that we can share the goodies. We have had shrimp dishes to lamb dishes and eveything in between. Often, the dishes are deliciously spicy so get ready for a little Asian kick.
The cocktails are huge and discounted so that works too.
Now for the best part- every time I say to my group that we need to order deserts, they say NO- too many calories. I love it because I order them anyway- at least 2 and often 3. I love the Bananas Foster and anything chocolate. The fun is to have them brought to the table and then watch the naysayers gorge themselves on these delicacies. Everyone is ready to lick the plates clean it is so wonderful. Then comes the bill and the answer is- that is all it is? You get a lot of delicious food and drink for not too big a price. This is clearly one of our favorites in La Jolla.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roppongi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing