We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen
Ranked #111 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We ordered a big takeout meal here, and they were fast and the food was delicious! Nothing more to say, than a thumbs up! Would return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tortitabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Thai In Southern Calif.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We travel to La Jolla about 3-4 times a year. And I make my husband swear we will have lunch or dinner there at least once during each visit. I love the presentations of the lunch plates. I love the mild curry wonton appetizer that comes with the lunch plate. The shredded beets are wonderfully fresh and enjoyable even though its the garnish. Phad Thai is my favorite. I try an occasional different dish. I haven't been disappointed yet. In response to the negative review, I have not had any experiences with bad service there. I do know that when a waiter pours the wrong glass of wine or alcohol, it comes out of their wages for the mistake. So I can see why a waiter may be upset. But that doesn't excuse anyone being rude.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“delicious small thai place”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Small unpretentious place in La Jolla with delicious thai dishes. Everything, including dessert, was excellent. Service is a bit weak though, and if you go in a bit late at night they seem in a hurry to leave so you don´t really enjoy the end of your meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RifkaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs Better Servers :(”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The rating should be 3 Stars, but we have always had great experiences before last, so 4 stars is for the average for overall. Love the patio seating, the food and the service were always consistently good except for our the server we had last time. First, I always order red wine, because most white wines give me headaches. When the server brought out the white, instead of the red, I politely told the server that I had ordered red, at which point, the server rudely accused me of ordering the white wine. A better server would have apologized for the miscommunication/error and just brought the correct order. On top of her rudeness, she suggested a steamed fish dish to my boyfriend that was so spicy(heat) that he couldn't even eat it or even taste the fish. My boyfriend loves spicy food, but this particular dish was not at all enjoyable. Would have said something to the server, but considering the fit she threw about the wine order, we just paid the bill and left - still hungry.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobayashi, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent food. The patio is the best dining area with the candles and twinkle lights. A bit pricy but certain dishes, such as the yellow curry with coconut in it are delicious!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank klawhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing