We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Su Casa

Su Casa
Ranked #59 of 1,239 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Su Casa is an authentic, friendly, family oriented restaurant that has been a pioneer in gourmet Mexican and Seafood specialties for 45 years. Su Casa has received eight gold medal awards for food excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Su Casa is our neighborhood family Mexican restaurant, and I thought it was about time I gave them some props. We love you, Su Casa! We go there at least twice a month and are never disappointed. The food is Baja traditional (lots of seafood) and delicious, the margaritas are great, and the servers are super friendly and come to say hi to us even when we're not in their area. The food arrives fast and the ambience is cozy. The very best thing from my point of view is the guacamole made table-side to your exact specifications with fresh oranges and limes squeezed into it. My husband loves the "camarones al chipotle" (shrimp with spicy marinade) and my daughter loves the virgin mango margaritas and the quesadillas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank home74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    91
    38
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
393 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Su Casa, La Jolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at 5:45 and requested a booth, we had to wait about 10 minutes but that was fine. I got a margarita and my husband got a local beer, they were both great. The chips were crisp and delicious! The salsa well prepared. I ordered the shredded beef flautas and my husband got a shredded beef taco and cheese enchilada. Again, both were very good. The atmosphere was well designed and I liked the fireplaces. We would definitely eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good guac , great margies , and check out the crab chimmies. On our visit ,it was the perfect end to a perfect day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daveandcheryl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Delicious - the BEST margaritas ever! Sooooo happy to be here -- girls wkd. Just apps and drinks -- we were super loud and no one noticed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast and Polite Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our food was cold, quacamole was presented well and tasted good, but that was it. We just had the feeling that all the food had been sitting in the kitchen and then slightly microwaved before service. I had the flautas which were soggy and not crispy fried like they are suppose to be. My husband ate his enchiladas only because he was hungry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorCalExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Casa also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Su Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing