We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Disappointed!”
Review of Cheese Shop

Cheese Shop
Ranked #29 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“So Disappointed!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We always stop at the Cheese Shop in La Jolla when we go to the beach there. They have a lamb sandwich that WAS unbeatable. Last Friday my sandwich had half the meat it normally has, and the lamb was overcooked and gristly. What a disappointment! For $10.95 I expect a better sandwich than that! Sorry, Cheese Shop, you've lost my business!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    52
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Complete deli with many options, been in business for decades”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great choice for sandwiches, from traditional to creative. If you don't see what you want on the menu, they are willing to accommodate you to make your own creation.

Good fresh squeezed OJ. They also offer fresh lemonade and other healthy drink choices In addition to a cooler full of bottled drinks.

Prices are very reasonable. One of the best values near La Jolla Shores. Open for breakfast and lunch.

Outdoor seating available, along with free Wi-Fi.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lsa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good for an easy lunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Line was long, so I was expecting a spectacular sandwich. The Ruben's bread disintegrated as it was microwaved instead of grilled. I don't think it was worth the $9 I shelled out for it. Maybe the cold sandwiches are better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yum Yum Yum”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Some of the best food for the price. Really full menu. Service is quick and easy. Best sandwich I have had in a while. Thank you

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldenrosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Deli Sandwiches and get a cookie”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had the Turkey, Avocado sandwich, very good sandwich and then I got one of their flour less oatmeal cookies. These are good, they are very sticky (like bit o honey candy), but tasty.
This place has all kinds of candy and sodas to choose from, and pretty quick service, jut a nice place to eat while waiting for your kayak tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Shop also viewed

 

Been to Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing