We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMMMMMMM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheese Shop

Cheese Shop
Ranked #29 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“YUMMMMMMM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

they have the most DELISH!!! sandwiches, even my picky 12 year old loved it. A must if you are in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank veronica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and selection of canides and sodas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We ate here on three different occasions during our week in La Jolla. Twice we ate at the outdoor tables, once we took our food to the beach. we tried six different sandwiches and their chef salad and were pleased every time. The sandwiches are fresh, packed with whatever filling you order and the service prompt. The oatmeal cookies (especially when freshly baked) are awesome. I have not seen a collection of sodas from around the country anywhere and was quite surprised to find them in a small deli in La Jolla. that said, we probably tried 15 sodas we had never heard of. The adventure was quite fun.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Texas-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

what a great find? Super food, fresh, friendly, nice quantities and awesome pickles :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BRendajanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you in the Shores in La Jolla”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

If you are in the Shores in La Jolla and looking for a sandwich shop try the Cheese Shop. It has been there for years and has a good selection of sandwiches. Take away one of their oatmeal cookies for desert. Take your sandwiches down to the beach and have a picnic. There are a few talbes outside otherwise it is a take away.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shortsleeve92037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I will definitely be going back. This place was recommended to my friend and I by several locals, and it lived up to the hype.
It's basically a sandwich shop with really fresh and generous ingredients. A little pricey for a sandwich, but it's so good you won't notice. :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank shannon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Shop also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing