We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”
Review of The Hake

The Hake
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: Happy Hour Every Day From 4 - 7 pm The Hake offers a seafood-focused menu with global touches, plus signature cocktails
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A more relaxed eating style with a mixture of fish and meat on the menu. Calamari starter and burger to follow, with my wife chosing the steak.
Everything was fine and the service was prompt and efficient.

Comedy moment of the year occurred when our hotel receptionist thought the name was pronounced as "Hack - eh". She had never heard of a fish called Hake!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    44
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We ate lunch there as the price and selection of entrees was acceptable (but high for us) and was less than others on the block. We had a steak that was excellently seasoned and could almost be cut with a fork (can't remember the name, but it was not the usual New York, Ribeye selections). The total meal size was smaller than I like, but normal for that type of restaurant. The one Bad comment: The service was SLOW once the order was in; seems like we waited over a half hour.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute place, nice service, good food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

George was our waiter and he was fantastic. Suggested the seared tuna, which was delicious. He also suggested the perfect glass of white wine to go with it! The tuna burgers weren't as good. We ordered them rare so they'd come out like Ahi Poke, but, the tuna didn't taste as fresh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashleygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food, Parisian atmosphere”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our first time in La Jolla and we must have walked around for an hour trying to decide where to eat, which as you know is more difficult when you're extremely hungry. After we dismissed a couple places we chose for good Yelp reviews because of a long wait, we found The Hake. I loved walking down the stairs to the sunken patio, and feeling like we stepped into a French cafe. The staff was very accommodating, quick to take our order and giving us space to enjoy our meals. I don't think my water glass went half empty before someone came to top it off, it was really impeccable service. The the food...... SO good. A bit fancy, small portions for more money, but quality was superb which to me means great value. I had the Greek sandwich with fries and my husband had the shrimp roll with a salad. Everything was delicious! Even the simple 5-herb salad was above-par. My husbands only complaint was that it was nearly impossible to pick up the shrimp roll and eat it, he had to use his utensils (typical guy complaint) but he said it was worth it. We'll definitely be back to this little gem.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A memorable meal”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went to 3 "fine dining" restaurants in La Jolla and Hake had the best food. It was a bit noisy and we had a disorganized waiter for whom the management more than compensated with a free entree, glass of wine and dessert, but I tasted the best seared tuna I have ever had and an amazing scallop dish and dessert. Wonderful

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hake also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Hake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing