We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian in La Jolla”

Stella Italianfare La Jolla
Ranked #48 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian in La Jolla”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a small place with street view and ocean views. Food is authentic and tasty. The service was great. Bar is small but nice and quaint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    70
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food with a beautiful ocean view”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ate lunch here while walking around La Jolla. Its location on a hill overlooks La Jolla Cove and the food is good with good service. I had the Frittata Vegetali and it was fresh and tasty, though a bit dry. She had the Avena con frutti e yogurt and it was very good and a nice portion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomanticRoamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant taste - but take a jumper for evening”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ate here one evening. The bruschetta was on special with filet mignon. I asked for regular bruschetta - which I got no problem and it was amazing. Steak was extremely tender and well presented. We tried sitting inside - but it was a bit bland. Outside terrace was much nicer - but no terrace heaters here so take a jumper or cardigan for the evening. Great tastes and value for money!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lux life G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST dinner of our trip, hands down”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved this place SO much. We took our three daughters there for dinner on our last night in La Jolla and sat on the beautiful elevated patio, looking out at the ocean. The food was phenomenal. We go out to eat quite a bit and thought we knew what good food was. No. We had no idea it could taste this good. All three of our daughters loved their meals. The minestrone soup, best ever. The fettucine alfredo, best ever. The "grandma" soup, best ever, The zucchini chef special, best ever. Wonderful, kind service. Live music. A truly special and fabulous way to end our trip. You must go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Italianfare La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Stella Italianfare La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing