We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers”

The Promiscuous Fork
Ranked #35 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had four different burgers and some poppers. The burgers are huge and very flavorful. It is pretty busy and three was a line. It is a small placeThey also have a good selection of beers.

Helpful?
Thank gzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in La Jolla”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This little gem was recommended to us and what a great little eatery. The portions are plentiful for a great price. The salmon tacos are a must!!! There isn't much seating but the best part is it encourages you to interact with the other patrons. We have been to the La Jolla area numerous times and this will be a return location for us in the future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casual Barmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just down from our house rental in La Jolla - we had all the burgers and decided they were all equally excellent! The lamb-cicles were awesome too along with the sauce they serve on the side (mint and basil?). We loved the atmosphere - casual, walk up and order and they call your name. Standing room only most of the time but always good for a conversation with the locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sajarobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duren, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice small an casual foodplace. Excellent service and nice people”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have visited this place on several occasions during a stay in SD in January/February 2013. From the outside it is just a very small, one room foodplace with limited selection, but from the inside it is really, really nice and the food is very tasty. Staff is exceptionally friendly and you can just hang out there, grab some very nice and tasty food and have a really nice time chatting with staff or looking how the cooks prepare your meals. I wish we had a place like this around in Germany. So if you just want to grab some food after work and hang out a bit this is a good place to go. You can also share your carrot cake with staff if you like :D

I can very much recommand the Pot Roast Sandwich and the The La Jolla Plate. The Corn Salad is best as a side. They also have a small but nice selections of beers on tap. Will definitely visit this place again, if I ever return to San Diego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel65536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tasty Casual Food, Charming Service, Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After passing by this place many times, I finally had an opportunity to stop in for lunch--glad I did. The La Jolla Chicken was excellent and accompanied with coconut infused rice and macaroni salad (a recipe the owner got from Maui). A very good value at only $8 for the plate. My friend was equally pleased with the blackened salmon taco dish.

Very attentive service--people were greeted and asked how they heard about the place and Parker was very helpful in steering people to the right dishes.I definitely need to check out that garlic infused burger on my next visit. Will definitely be returning

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elchevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Promiscuous Fork also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Promiscuous Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing