We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Casual Food, Charming Service, Reasonably Priced”

The Promiscuous Fork
Ranked #31 of 1,239 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Tasty Casual Food, Charming Service, Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

After passing by this place many times, I finally had an opportunity to stop in for lunch--glad I did. The La Jolla Chicken was excellent and accompanied with coconut infused rice and macaroni salad (a recipe the owner got from Maui). A very good value at only $8 for the plate. My friend was equally pleased with the blackened salmon taco dish.

Very attentive service--people were greeted and asked how they heard about the place and Parker was very helpful in steering people to the right dishes.I definitely need to check out that garlic infused burger on my next visit. Will definitely be returning

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elchevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!! Exactly what Ive been looking for in this area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

So we walked in and our favourite music was playing, and friendly guy greets us and immediately we love this place. After chatting with him for ages we finally order and he ends up throwing in a dish for free as a wedding gift as we had just tied the knot recently.... amazing. :)
So in the end we got the catfish tacos, lamb lollipops and the best chicken sandwich . Delish, fresh, flavourfull, good sized...... wow.
Love this place, San Diego needs this kinda vibe

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEBOCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Fork'n Chicken Sandwich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Took one bite, and this was no doubt the best chicken sandwich ever. Small hole in the wall, nice service, and the chefs take pride in making your meal the most enjoyable. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CycoPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had blackened salmon cesear salad and loved it! Very airy little place. We got ours to go. Great for take out. Sliders were delicious too. Kids gobbled them up!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank All4TheKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“funny little place but nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

can not hold many people. in cheap strip mall. food very good. have some wine talk with the chefs as they prepare the meal. go there for the food not the ambiance. I will be back the food was very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Promiscuous Fork also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Promiscuous Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing