We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Italian”
Review of Bistro Pazzo

Bistro Pazzo
Ranked #63 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love penne al arrabiata, not a menu item, but the owner Seto Marselian had it made for me. It was excellent. My partner had Rodfather's Meat-a-balls, huge beef meatballs with spaghetti marinara and liked it. So we had to go back and I had an excellent broiled salmon that came with just the right amount of green beans and carrots to compliment the fish while my partner had the rigatoni Salsiccie that featured tasty Italian sausage. We started with prosciutto e melone (prosciutto and cantaloupe) one night and barbabietola (beets with balsamic vinegar and walnuts) the other night, both wonderful. Each meal was preceded by excellent focaccia served with an abundance of pesto. So we spent two pleasant winter evenings, pretty much along with Seto, discussing food, basketball, and the weather, thinking we might be in a small restaurant in Cinque Terre. I suspect (and hope) that he is much busier at other times.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hahnecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
“Wonderful Neighborhood Italian Bistro”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were advised to go to this wonderful restaurant by a friend and had a wonderful meal and a fantastic glass of wine. The owner, Seto, is friendly and attentive. He is a really great guy! Our evening was delightful and we will go back often. The food I'd really good! even my hard to please husband loved it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a cold rainy night and were welcomed by the owner with very personalized service and excellent food. The salads were fresh and flavorful and the pasta and seafood were also very good. I loved the fresh ciabatta bread and basil and oil dip. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I'm So Happy Tony Asked Me To Dine Here”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. I've walked past this place a million times. Our neighbor Tony suggested that we eat there. Turns out the owner "Seto" and his chief cook left the famous La Jolla staple restaurant called Avanti and opened this cute little place around 5 years ago. Food, service and quality were good.
Bonus! Turns out that the night we went (Tuesday) was 1/2 price bottle of wine night, and the wine was very good.
Try it, you'll like it. It's a favorite of the locals.
Please leave a"comment" if you read this, I thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePinkCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sunset menu is excellent value”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice place in heart of La Jolla, one block back from the very busy (and impossible to park on) Prospect St. Large Italian menu, with normal pastas, but also seafood items, chicken piccata, etc. A special while we were there was a grilled rib eye steak (which we didn't get). The sunset menu, about 4-6 in the afternoon, is only $15 for a salad and entree (although limited choices). The items we had were very good, chicken done very nicely and not overdone, and sauce on the pasta very good. Half price bottles of wine on Tues & Wed. Very pleased.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCEguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Pazzo also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Bistro Pazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing