We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee lovers paradise”

Bird Rock Coffee Roasters
Ranked #3 of 61 Coffee & Tea in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Coffee lovers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This place is always bustling with a hip crowd. Being in a nice part of town (Bird Rock, La Jolla) you can almost always be certain of this sort of crowd on any day of the week. They are all here for the coffee (why there are ever people across the road at the Starbucks is truly beyond me!) and it's fabulous. Free wifi, seating inside and out. People with laptops, strollers, dogs and bicycles, they are all regulars (probably!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaseyMac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    12
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best coffee ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a quick bew and had the best coffee we've ever had in our long lives. Bird Rock Coffee is located on the strip just south of La Jolla, has comfortable outside and inside seating, and is a nice relaxed atmosphere. The server was very helpful explaining the coffee's to use and the barista manually crafted the espresso. He brewed and created a beautiful latte for myself and my husband, who no fan of specialty coffee, had a cafe americano. The coffee was full of fresh flavor and delicate undertones that are burnt out of so many roasts. We both regretted not living on the west coast and bought a pound of monkey bite beans to take home. Love you Bird Rock Roasters.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank susansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best coffee in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Have searched all over San Diego for coffee that can rival Australia and New Zealand, I found it here!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BGildea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Coffee, Pleasant Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved the feel of this coffee shop. There was a crowd of locals hanging out both inside and outside. What's even better is that the windows are garage doors, so there's really not an inside or outside: it was very open and welcoming. The downtown location was great too; we stopped in from the interstate, and it wasn't too much of a detour. The staff was very nice and helpful. And the coffee was delicious! I recommend the French Roast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“simply the best coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the best coffee spots anywhere. My husband loves the special coffee latte called "the trophy wife"..and I must admit that this is my favorite too. The coffee is roasted on site and the barista makes your drink to order. The owner travels to South America for the beans (my personal favorite comes from Bolivia). If you buy a bag of coffee to take home, you get a free coffee. It is never bitter....always fresh. There is a little area with books for children to play and on the weekends, they often have a guitar player too. It is unique and worth the trip. Don't miss some of the other cute shops on the street also....a wine shop a few doors down and a great boutique for women across the street. Get your coffee and take a stroll through BirdRock.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishgirl077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Rock Coffee Roasters also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Bird Rock Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing