We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real sleeper”
Review of Cafe Vahik

Cafe Vahik
Ranked #5 of 23 Coffee & Tea in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real sleeper”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great breakfast, lunch, coffee directly across the street (LJB) from Holiday Inn Express. Plain exterior belies a real treasure. If I were a mile or two away, I'd walk to get here. If I were unfortunate enough to be staying more than a couple of miles away, I'd drive here. The place is excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff and Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“really nice owner”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

remembers your name right away. Good coffees. great omelets. the turkey sandwich is really good. had breakfast and lunch there. owner really nice. food really good value. we just walk there from where we stay. we will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY State
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Next to the Travelodge on La Jolla blvd. Very deceiving exterior - looks like nothing. But inside are friendly people and fresh tasting food.

Paninis are excellent. Comes with a fresh salad.

Would visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maddiecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A really superb slice of local friendliness and good coffee”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love this place. Perfect spot to pop in for yummy coffee, delicious sandwiches, snacks and to observe some of the locals enjoying their morning cup of joe. Lovely!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank iheartannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quality food with an entertainment factor”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a rental a couple of blocks from this convenient breakfast, coffee and lunch spot on La Jolla Blvd in La Jolla, and were very fortunate to have discovered it. Grabbed a coffee there the first time, my latte was hot and tasty and Vahik’s genuinely friendly service made me feel invited. He’s a lot of fun. Went back on day two, more lattes and added in a California omelet, subbing ham for the turkey which was no problem whatsoever. Delicious, and a nice multigrain toast too. They are anxious to please at this tiny café up the street from Windansea Beach. Day 3, a bagel from across the street but more lattes from Vahik, and this time I tried the soup of the day, Portuguese kale, freaking awesome. Loaded with vegetables, tasted great, as good as my own although Vahik told me his was better. Spunky! Split a Rambling Roast Beef panini with hubs, delicious, and hubs had a nice Caesar salad. Vahik likes to chat and he’ll keep you entertained if you are so inclined. So three great experiences at this café, next time I stay in La Jolla I’m going to give him more business!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Vahik also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cafe Vahik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing