We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Grill offers a casual and convenient San Diego dining experience located adjacent to the practice putting greens and starters club house of the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Whether dining inside or on the patio, you will find a complete menu of your favorite items and beverages.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

At the Lodge at Torrey Pines. The food and service are very good and this is a great special occasion place. The brunch is also excellent and you can dine inside or out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    85
    29
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Healthy Breakfast!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I live around the corner and have had every option (ie breakfast, lunch, and dinner). I return regularly for the Wilted Bloomsdale Spinach, Double Smoked Bacon and Sliced Torpedo Onion with Poached Egg Home Made Ricotta. It is the most wonderful item they serve. I also like the "Bulls Eye" but its too much food for me. The OJ, Bloody Mary's, and coffee are all very good. The service is professional, refined, and prompt. I've taken a number of friends here on several occssions but have had mixed experiences. Sometimes the food isn't consistent (ie. cold toast, overcooked eggs, etc...) but overall this particular item keeps me coming back. Also the ambience is very soothing and I also to enjoy having a relaxing meal or just a glass of wine by the fire place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
219 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

To be guests of the hotel is great, and comparable with that experience is eating at the hotel restaurant. The staff couldn't be friendlier -- a wonderful hostess with a beautiful Irish brogue is memorable -- and my wife and daughter and I had a great post-Christmas dinner. The French onion soup was creatively prepared with the traditional gruyere cheese floating on a crouton. The roast pork was succulent and very flavorful, beautifully presented, as was the fish. We couldn't order dessert, but that didn't prevent the staff from presenting the most delicious home made cinnamon donuts (quite small). All in all a really lovely and warm meal. "Warm" describes all aspects of this lodge and restaurant, and you owe it to yourself to try it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch Xmas Day 13”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stumbled on this place riding around on Xmas day. Great place... good service and food. Nice atmosphere and they where busy!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and hospitality”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to lunch here the day after Christmas, and had one of the best meals we've ever had! Some of the treats we highly recommend include: multi-grain sourdough bread, roasted beet salad with goat cheese ravioli, "brick" chicken, and brie soup. The "brick" chicken is cooked under a brick and is flattened out, being very crispy on the outside and very moist inside. The waiter said it would be the best chicken I ever had, and I agree! The brie soup was amazing - a wonderful mushroom soup base (clear soup, not creamy) with a large crouton covered with delicious brie. We sat out on the porch and it was a lovely day. We were so impressed by the warm hospitality of our waiter, and the other staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k-wren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing