We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
La Jolla
Post
Inbox
Search

“Really neat place with good food”

Herringbone La Jolla
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #32 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Herringbone features a California coastal cuisine with an emphasis on line-caught seafood and high-quality meats. Filled with a sense of nautical whimsy, Herringbone’s innovative design creates a fresh, contemporary atmosphere of easy Southern California beach living. The coastal charm of each of location is achieved through live trees, lush greenery, fish net draping and maritime inspired artwork and fixtures; while the cuisine uses market-driven ingredients and a curated wine selection that allows guests to set sail on a unique culinary and social dining experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is really a neat place with a cool bar and vibe

The food is mostly seafood with a few other selections available

If you like seafood, splurge and get the seafood tower with oysters, crab, shrimp and ceviche - outstanding

Our boss joined us and she has been previously and she came back willingly

This place might be a bit loud at times, still gotta go

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank darrelltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 558 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2020

We walked past the Herringbone on our way to the Post Office and I could immediately tell, briefly looking in, I would love to spend some time inside. So we came back later for drinks. We didn't get further inside than the first great room, a genteel, quiet space with fireplaces (operational) at either end of the room and two huge trees in the middle, a few birds included; lots of brick. We only ate a shrimp cocktail, drank cocktails (me), beer (husband). I would imagine that dining here would be equally enjoyable. Don't pass this lovely place up.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Janlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

This is definitely one of the most uniquely decorated restaurants in the area with trees in the dining area and some open air areas. There seemed to be a good variety of food and drinks though it is mainly seafood. Price is a bit on the expensive side but you're going to be paying for the atmosphere and the taste which was very good. I had the sea bass which was very high quality though you definitely will want some appetizers as the quantity is a bit on the low end. Staff was friendly though it did take quite a while for our waiter to come back to get the check.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wins22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2019 via mobile

Herringbone serves both great food and great drinks. The food tends to be more seafood, but has many non seafood options. The bar is one of the most popular in La Jolla and has music on weekends.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank sdar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

The place has an extremely nice decoration and a very nice menu. Food is really good, the Arancini and the herb fries are just fantastic! Good selection of wines and a really good service. The waiters were kind and attentive.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marubv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herringbone La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Herringbone La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing