We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decorations..”
Review of Herringbone

Herringbone
Reserve with OpenTable
Herringbone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Located in the coastal community of La Jolla, Herringbone offers "Fish Meats Field" cuisine by Top Chef Season 3's Brian Malarkey.
Parker, CO
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Lovely decorations..”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This place was recommended to us by our waiter at George's as a good place for Happy Hour....so off we went! The outside was misleading and we also walked right by....but it is charming. Loved the decor....trees, lobster crates full of blowfish (yes, real, but they ASSURED me that they were picked up dead already)....variety of seating, from rocking chairs by the fire, to tall-tops or couches....

Happy Hour basically boasted $6 liquor..you choose the add-ins. My friend and I both felt that they were 'light' on booze...but tasty. We choose a few appetizers....YUMMY! Oysters on the half-shell were $1/a pc...good price.

Loved the atmosphere. Service was good. Drinks just not very 'potent' (and I am a lightweight!).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    126
    35
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seriously amazing atmosphere, excellent food and service.”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Probably the most interesting and beautiful dining atmosphere I've ever enjoyed. Not to take away from the great menu/food and excellent service. The donut dessert should not be missed.

Helpful?
Thank Manitoban_Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So-So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent and surprisingly affordable”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Herringbone occpuies an abandon garage that sat decrepit in the middle of a block in La Jolla for years. What the owners did with this space is truly magical. While leaving the outside of the building virtually untouched, they transformed the inside into an intimate space with live trees and dreamy lighting. A salad generous enough for two, two excellent entrees and a bottle of wine were about a hundred twenty bucks. Not bad. The waiter was a little too familiar for my taste -- note to waiter: I don't want to be your friend, I just want you to be my waiter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A noisey fun filled gem, excellent evening”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The noise blasted us as we entered at the end of Happy Hour. Taking friends newly arrived from the UK for a real American experience, we were delighted at such good food and cheerful ambience. The young hostess and despite the generally younger than we are patrons, we really enjoyed the decor and atmosphere Our Cuban waiter was so helpful and understanding. The fried oysters were delectable my husband had the fresh ones and wished he had more. The oxtail appetizer was good but too much, less fries with it would have been better ,my sword fish slipped down easily. Two desserts both excellent were shared. The bill along with 7 drinks came to about $300.00 but since I did not pay I could not be certain. What I am certain about was dinner, atmosphere and service made our evening excellent. We will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster roll and fresh oysters”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Visit for fresh seafood and a beautiful space where the outdoors is brought inside. Our waitress was ok, but not overly warm like we experienced throughout SD. That didn't take away from how fresh the seafood tastes!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nycTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herringbone also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Herringbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing