We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Herringbone

Herringbone
Reserve with OpenTable
Herringbone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Located in the coastal community of La Jolla, Herringbone offers "Fish Meats Field" cuisine by Top Chef Season 3's Brian Malarkey.
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved the food and the atmoshpere here so much we went Saturday for drinks and came back Sunday for brunch!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    120
    35
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came here for happy hour. The setting is spectacular. Full grown trees inside, open kitchen, funky ocean industrial setting. We had beers and oysters and loved it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelproGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and setting, food almost great”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hi,

I went here for a buddy's bday recently. This place almost gets 5 stars in my book. Mimosa's, 12$ for bottomless, that's great. The food was very, very good, but I felt they could have had more options on the brunch menu. My gf had been there before though, when there were other options and she loved it. You can't lose with this place though, even if the menu could use more options, the atmosphere was just incredible. They have a balooga whale skeleton hanging from the ceiling and a tree INSIDE! Mind blowing...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fabulous little set up!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I was there in september last year for the 1st time in this little town of la jolla and wow did this place surprise me. Herringbone was recommended to us and we were delighted with the outcome. Love how it has a huge tree just smack center of the restaurant. Great ambience and lovely food to go with it. Fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just went to this restaurant and was very disappointed. Ordered the bass, but when they served it, was under cooked. Sent it back and got back 1/2 the fish I had previously gotten. Asked the waiter and he said they always give you another piece. They gave me 1/2 the amount, but still charged me $37 for the meal. Feel like they took advantage. Seems kind of cheap on their part. If they had cooked it right, I would not be disappointed.

Food is ok, but definitely not worth the money. Better places in La Jolla to eat were food is properly repared.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herringbone also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Herringbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing