We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2006

This is a really beatiful property, and I particularly enjoyed the live music by the outdoor fireplace. The room decor is substandard for this price range, though, and service is very indifferent. The food is far better (and a far better value) in the village of La Jolla. Please note this hotel is a substantial distance from the village.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank WineLover5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estancia, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2006

Dining is an important experience for every guest at the hotel. As we aim to provide the highest quality and service, we apparently fell short of our goals and expectations with your visit. We have not only notified the department leaders of Food and Beverage, but all associates that would contribute to your dining experience. Without guest feedback we could not continually improve, as we strive to with every guest and opinion. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2006

This was a beautiful hotel. We loved the hotel, the pool and spa/ The beds were so comfortable after a long day of site seeing. Beautiful fireplaces, live music and outdoor dining. Close to the Scripps Aquarium,. Nearby there are plenty of places to eat and shop in La Jolla. We drove down to San Diego for the zoo and sea world and up to LA. Good location. Close to the beach. You need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank blazeafyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

I stayed three nights and found it a fantastic place. Everyone was super nice to me, they worked hard to give me a room with a great view of a courtyard, and I personally loved the southern california mission architecture and style- i thought it was incredibly stylish. The beds, with crisp white sheets and duvet, was amazing. Overall, everyone was great- and this hotel had the best room service breakfast i've ever ordered. I know this sounds overly effusive but I just loved my stay there- for the room, the hotel, and the people. And I have pretty high standards. My only complaint was that the free internet wireless signal was pretty weak in my room- i almost considered asking for a new room with a stronger signal.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank chrisengletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We staying with my daughter (5) and my niece (12) and had a really enjoyable time. Sadly when we checked in they only had a room facing the parking lot. When I called to see if we could move to a room closer to the pool area or the court yard, they didn't have anything left.

The girls loved the activities by the pool (tie dying tshirts and face painting) and my husband and I had a great massage at the spa - Charlie is fabulous!! We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast we ordered at the main restaurant - presented beautifully and really delicious. We also had dinner in the courtyard/patio of the Mexican restaurant. Live music and good food made it a real treat for all of us.

The rooms are comfortable and decorated well. I loved the vanity in our bathroom and the colors used in the room. The staff we helpful and I especially appreciated the landscaping and ambience of the grounds. We did the whole Sea World and SDZoo thing and found this to be a great area to stay away from all of that touristy stuff, while still being comfortably able to access it all. We also spent a day wondering around La Jolla and the beach. Very enjoyable with great restaurants and galleries - even the kids enjoyed it. We would definitely return to the area and the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BloomDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

My mother and I opted for the Mother-Daughter Spa Getaway package on Labor Day weekend. Upon check-in we were offered champagne and the staff was very courteous. We were told the entire resort was booked that weekend therefore could not get a late check out. The rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. (Free internet definitely a plus) However, it was a long walk from the lobby. If you plan to enjoy the spa, make sure to book your treatments at the time you book your reservation. When we actually got to the resort, we found out the Spa was completely SOLD OUT for the weekend and we were stuck with using $100 toward the gift shop and restaurant. Overall it was a relaxing and nice place to stay. Even with the hotel booked up, it was quiet and people were so spread out you didn't even see them.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelin_gal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

I was very apprehensive about staying at La Estancia, since the other reviews were not good at all, in particular regarding the service. However, I thought the service was outstanding. I also thought the food was great, the pool was wonderful, and the property was really lovely in general. Very well taken care of, and very thoughtfully planned out. My daughter and I had a girls' trip, and we really loved it. I would definitely recommend a return trip. Its very well situated, avoiding the La Jolla traffic jam, and has ample room to stroll around. There was a beautiful huge wedding while we were there and it didnt impact our visit at all. All in all, a great stay (and I am very picky!)

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at the Estancia for five nights the last week of July.
We secure an internet special room with two queen beds, and was very happy with the accomodations for the special price. The room was sound proof enough, as we have two young kids, and did not want to bother other visitors. Check in was swift, and we were offered valent and bell hop, but we did not need these, as we just wanted to park our car in the lot close to the room and unload in our own time. We had a devine early evening meal during happy hour at Mustangs and Burros but it is expensive. The surroundings consist of well manicured landscapes and gardens. The pool was wonderful as an evening respite and the day spa was lovely, however the whirlpool was broken on the day I went. We also had the buffet breakfast which again was expensive but amazingly great!
This is truly a fourstar hotel experience, but is mostly geared to excutive business travelers. I do highly recommend this lovely hotel.

2  Thank mdevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $263 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing