We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Napa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Thank you for spoiling me Estancia team!
I felt welcomed, relaxed and taken care of from the moment I arrived to the moment I left.
My airy and clean room overlooked the luscious garden, the food at Mustang was simply delicious (those chips and salsa/guacamole to dye for) and the spa was a little paradise in itself.
Wish I could have stayed longer and can't wait to return!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I loved the main floor, parallel to the resort frotn desk, with a balcony overlooking the inner lusc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc-vitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear nyc-vitti- Thank YOU for allowing us to spoil you! We strive to provide our guests with outstanding experiences and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. You mentioned some great points and it is wonderful to read your excitement!

Warm regards,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    369
    143
    67
    34
See reviews for
302
475
53
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. The grounds are nice to walk around, and it is a secluded, quiet resort. We came for a romantic weekend, and it was just what we needed. The couples bungalow at the spa was a great experience. There are several areas around the resort to sit outside and some areas with fireplaces for when it is chilly. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. However, we encountered several issues during our stay. First, if you are sensitive to noise, request a room on the top floor - we had a family with children above us and it was quite loud. We upgraded our room to the veranda - this a complete waste of money. We had one chair on a small concrete pad, butted up against a muddy slope. Also, the rooms with balconies include only one chair and are quite small. Overall the staff is friendly, but we called twice to get a bottle opener for the free bottle of wine and it never arrived. We had to also call twice for firmer pillows and once they finally arrived they were no firmer than we already had. The beds were comfortable, but we both awoke to terribly sore backs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank familyof4SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear familyof4SoCal- Although I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your time with us, I am sorry to hear you had some concerns. I am very sorry to read that you affected by noisy neighbors upstairs. Although we rarely receive this complaint, I know how undermining it can be to the overall guest experience. I feel confident that this was an isolated incident, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

I appreciate all of your feedback and will work to address the details with my team.

Thank you,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. When we arrived I was a little disappointed because it has that pueblo look and I am used to big, glass and modern. However, I could not have been more pleased with everything about this resort. The rooms were well appointed and came with nice soft towels, bathrobes and a bottle of wine! Of course, we expected to get a bill for the wine so we didn't drink it and ended up leaving it in the room because it was 8 am on departure day before we realized it was complimentary! So be sure and drink your wine. We ate on property both nights and the food was outstanding. I am a chef and a particular foodie so that is saying a lot.

While we did not have time to properly explore all of the grounds we did take the time to admire all of the flowers and amazing succulent plants around the hotel. The staff could not have been more courteous and greeted us with a glass of champagne!

We will return to spend more time in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyShip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear LillyShip- I sincerely appreciate your 5-star review and taking the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay. Your feedback was very valuable and we are honored, as you being a chef, you found our food outstanding! Please come back and visit us again soon so you have a chance to explore the rest of our hotel.

Warm regards,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The personal were great as well as the restaurants,finding our room priceless. A little bit of a maze but a beautiful property. The pool area is nicely located but the spa needs a good scrub..... The sunday morning buffet was lovely with something for everyone. I definitely would return but be aware of extra expenses such as hospitality fee,valet parking, etc. Not for the New England thrifty.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Owner at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for all of your thoughts and taking the time to review the many aspects of our hotel. We sincerely thank you choosing Estancia La Jolla and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great location. Beautiful setting. rooms were immaculate and staff great
Definitely will return.
Located very close to UCSD. Concierge and front desk folks very helpful
Particularly liked the conference room/auditorium

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit during a conference. We are pleased you appreciated the close proximity to UCSD as well as our conference facilities. The Learning Center is certainly popular amongst our meeting and group guests! We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to La Jolla soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Let me start with the good: The grounds are lovely and the hotel well located if you are doing anything at UCSD.

The bad: Arriving on a Saturday, we got stuck in the valet line as numerous guests arrive for a wedding. The valets seemed overwhelmed and under staffed. You must valet, there is o self parking. I find this expensive and annoying.

I would avoid the hotel on weekends, as it appears they have a constant stream of weddings underway.

The rooms are smallish, and decorated very blandly (think IKEA).

The Adobe restaurant appears painfully understaffed for breakfast. We waited 5-10 minutes to be seated (no receptionist). And it took over an hour to be served after we sat down.

There are plenty of nice hotels in the La Jolla area. Unless you are attending something at UCSD or a wedding on sight, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Estancia La Jolla. Although we are pleased you found our grounds lovely and in close proximity to UCSD, we are concerned you had a negative experience with our levels of service. We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests and it is disappointing to hear when we have not met our goals. We apologize for your experience and we will address with the team.

Thank you very much for visiting us from Manhattan Beach and we hope to welcome you back again soon so that we may give you a better impression of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The grounds of the Estancia are by far the highlight of the hotel. Immaculately kept and a reminder of California's splendor. Another highlight is the hotel's restaurants. La Jolla is not lacking in food options but the hotel's restaurants can compete. The Heuvos Rancheros at the Adobe restaurant are a great way to start your day in San Diego. The one drawback of the hotel was that valet is the only option for parking your car. This is completely fine but the tipping can put a drain on your wallet if your staying multiple days and and use your car often.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Estancia. We truly appreciate your mention of our hotel as part of California's splendor. Thank you taking the time to leave us a review and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing