We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We love this hotel. Personnel were very kinf from the cleanning staff to the managers. I will say the only cons is the valet parking which is a little bit of a pain but the guys where very nice. For those looking for a beach hotel this is not walking distance to the beach but other that that I will recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krysia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    346
    129
    65
    30
See reviews for
279
448
47
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely Old California look and feel. The hotel is large enough to be comfortable, but broken up into charming garden areas, outdoor fireplace patios, spa, pool and restaurants that give it a real private club feel. Its a resort to make "your place " and come back to often. I booked a spa treatment and stayed to relax in the private spa patios. Excellent. - on par with any 5 star spa . The rooms are modern and steamlined , and have the all necessary comfy white robes (love em) and iron ( dont make me call) and spacious, newly renovated bathrooms. The staff seem to all be young , good looking and ready to accomodate you in any way to make your stay perfect. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed the spa and your guest room. I would have to agree with you on the new robes- they’re pretty amazing! We are happy to hear that you will be back, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked a package deal here and the agent was very helpful. Explained all fees, and even ended up waiving a few once we checked out. We were a little cautious before getting there because we had read other reviews here detailing renovations. To our relief, these had wrapped up and everything looked to be in great shape. The grounds were immaculate and rooms were clean and comfortable. Heated pool and hot tub are outside and are very relaxing even in cooler temperatures. The spa was also nice, although amenities were a little limited compared to other spas in the area. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the meals on the property - we had breakfast credits for each morning and ate dinner at two of the restaurants. The food is a little pricey compared to some places in town but it was all delicious. Once we learned to use the $50 breakfast credit a little more judiciously, we ordered two dishes each, split a pancake or waffle, and with tip we stayed under this budget. Another plus was the waived daily parking fee. We rented a car for our trip and took advantage of day trips to La Jolla, Torrey Pines State Park, Coronado, and San Diego. Didn't even use one tank of gas. The location of Estancia is great. Overall I would recommend this place to couples and groups, although it seems to be a popular business trip destination as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floor seem to offer a little more seclusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first experience and visit with the Estancia Hotel. To say I was impressed is an understatement!! From the valet team, to the grounds, front desk etc...everything was fabulous! The room accommodations were anything you would find in a five star hotel, and the ammenities were superb. The hotel gave our family a five star experience without the five star price, which is always fabulous! We visit La Jolla every year, and the Estancia is our new home away from home!

Room Tip: any room is amazing at the Estancia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This wasn't our first stay in La Jolla (we love La Jolla!), but it was our first stay at the Estancia. We had seen the entrance before when driving down Torrey Pines Rd. so we decided to try it when our dog was having surgery at a nearby veterinary hospital. We thought we were only going to be staying one night, but it ended up being two since the vet hospital had so many emergencies on the weekend of the 4th that our dog's surgery had to be put off for a day. We were very worried that we couldn't get a second night because they were so busy, but they had a couple of suites left. We loved our first regular king room and the suite. The grounds are beautiful! They have a path to walk on that surrounds the property and the vegetation is varied and beautiful!! We never left the property. We had delicious breakfasts, great guacomole and salsa, great wine, and margaritas, and great dinners. We loved eating outdoors (they had heat lamps in the evening). They have two restaurants. One serves breakfast and lunch and the other opens at 3 and serves appetizers, salads, sandwiches, street tacos, and dinners (also great wine and drinks). We got a spa credit with the suite so I had a wonderful massage. It was a very nice spa. The pool was beautiful, too.The buildings are Spanish style and very attractively done. Both rooms were very comfortable. Our suite was very large! Our friends met us there for dinner and they loved it, too. The weather was beautiful (as it always is in La Jolla). Everyone working there was very nice to us. We would definitely love to stay at Estancia again!

Room Tip: A regular room (most have balconies) was great and I think a better value for the cost. The suite wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for checking us out, we realize there are many wonderful properties here in La Jolla so we are most grateful that you chose us for your recent visit. We hope that your dog is recovering and doing well. Thank you for the compliments on our landscape, restaurants, spa and guest rooms… it sounds like you truly experienced it all! Your feedback is most helpful to us and our future guests, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would love to have you stay with us again- hopefully your pup can join you for a relaxing visit and skip the hospital next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Estancia La Jolla was very average. Even with repeated requests, staff is unable or incapable of enforcing the "no children under 14" rule posted very clearly at the Jacuzzi. Families with toddlers and young children filled the Jacuzzi, as if it was a kiddie pool for kiddie diving and swimming. This happened every day, and was not a one-time issue. Also, the white shower tile grout in the room has turned yellow/grey, and needs to be cleaned with a diluted bleach solution to remove mildew. The Mustang restaurant should make salads that actually contain the listed ingredients. It happened more than once, very cheaply made skimpy on the ingredients, just lots of lettuce for a high price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is lovely the grounds with the flower and plants are beautiful. The staff is over the top so kind and helpful they go out of their way to help. We booked the Grand suite and it was great and very clean . Did have some problems with room service not getting orders right and missing food also not getting the tea and biscotti that come with the room booking I had to ask each time. stayed for 5 nights didn't get the tea with the biscotti 3 nights. I did ask William at front desk and the last night we did get what we asked for. He was very helpful. but over all the hotel was wonderful and I would recommend This to everyone. Thank You Diane

Room Tip: Stayed near the pool only one day we were woken up with noise at pool try room not near pool. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dihome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you chose a Suite Escape, but would like to offer our apologies once again for the miscommunication with the herbal tea and housemade biscotti that is part of the Suite turn down service. I followed up with the team and we identified where the error occurred. You’re right- that is one of the best parts! We are glad to hear that despite our small error you still had a wonderful time and we thank you for recommending our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
3.3 mi away
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing