We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Up to Par”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the Estancia five nights while attending a medical workshop. There were plenty of helpful staff, beautiful grounds, and wonderful food. The pool area is well kept and the pool is salt water. A real plus. There is only one restaurant opened at night, which was a disappointment. However, they had an extensive menu and after dining there five nights in a row, I was still trying new dishes. It was truly a five star experience.

Room Tip: There is a row of rooms on one side that open to a parking lot. There is no view and not much light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippidydoda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the feedback. We would love to hear more about your dining experiences, so please feel free to share some insight on some of the top dishes or better yet- share some pictures on any of our social media channels. By the way- the Ahi Sliders are my current favorite from the menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    375
    147
    69
    36
See reviews for
308
482
55
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent a week at the Estancia and throughly enjoyed my stay. It is not a typical chain hotel and that makes it very special indeed. My room was very well appointed, excellent bathroom with all the proper amenities. Good water pressure and excellent daily maid service. Their reataurant Mustang and Burros is outstanding, Casual California with terrific service. My only real gripe was the internet was a bit pokey and went "down" sevral time during the visit. Otherwise, top marks, I will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islay_Malt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have lived in San Diego for most of my life and worked at some of the top hotels. This property is a hidden gem. I knew it was there but had never stayed there. My wife took me there last weekend for a birthday getaway and from the moment we arrived we felt the level of customer service along with the beauty of the property that we were at a very high end hotel. I wanted to personally recognize Eric Stephenson and Heather Canton. They both went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that my birthday weekend was extraordinary and that we were not left wanting to leave. We will be back for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisnicolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that we could make your birthday weekend so special. We hope that you'll join us again whether it be a special occasion or just a relaxing getaway. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our second weekend away at Estancia. We had a fairly good experience the first visit, so we decided to try it again. What a bad idea! From the moment we checked in, it was a nightmare. When we checked in, we waited 45 minutes in our room for our luggage to be delivered. After 2 calls to the front desk, my husband went up to the valet and got our luggage himself. Two bellmen were there doing nothing while our luggage sat out.

Our next disaster came at dinner at Mustang and Burros. We ordered dinner, and it arrived as cold as can be. We had to send it back, which we have never done ever before! They apparently just reheated our meal in the microwave and brought it back to us.

The room's furniture was very dingy and old looking.

There was a very strange smell in the entire area of the hotel.

The next morning we were headed out to La Jolla, and discovered that some items in our luggage were missing. We went to the front desk, and first they told us that it wasn't possible that items were missing. One item was a very large sunhat, not something you just misplace! Then they told us that the lost and found security person wasn't there and wouldn't come in until after 2 pm. We were going to the beach and needed the sunhat! We told them that we would go to the lost and found, but they wouldn't let us go.We waited in the lobby for 30 minutes, and suddenly a man came in with our items. There was no apology or explanation of where they found them!

We went to the bar for wine and appetizers that evening. We waited 20 minutes for someone to take our order, then another 30 minutes for our appetizer to arrive. The appetizer was once again...cold! We didn't even bother to send it back. We ate it cold.

We went to the pool the next day. There is a large hottub, with 2 signs clearly stating that no one under 14 is allowed in the hottub. There were 3 toddlers in the hottub, and the attendants said nothing. I'm a registered nurse, and very aware that it is unsafe for small children to be in the hottub for any extended period of time. They were splashing around, so we had to get out.

We went to the bar area to get drinks. There was a young man attending to the bar. There were 4 people waiting. It took this young man 20 minutes to make 2 iced teas! All of the people waiting got upset and left without ordering. We left and my husband went back 30 minutes later when there was no one in line. We wanted bloody mary's, but now they were out of bloody mary mix! We just laughed at this point because it was like someone was deliberately trying to mess with us! We thought we might be a part of some joke! We were looking for video cameras!

Now here is what we consider the worst part of our weekend....We emailed the general manager with our concerns, we filled out a survey of our experience at Estancia that is sent to everyone who stays there. We NEVER have heard from the general manager or ANYONE at the hotel!!!!

Customer service there is a joke.....they obviously do not care about the customers...it's shameful that they never responded to us. Both my husband and I are in the service industry....

Don't waste your hard earned money there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank louisandmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelPR2012, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and bringing your concerns to our attention. We truly apologize for your less than pleasant stay. While we are committed to providing excellent customer service to our guests, there a few matters that need to be evaluated internally and I want to assure you that we have brought your comments to the attention of the executive staff so they can follow up with their teams. As for the guestrooms, I hope you saw the flier with the exciting news on our upcoming enhancement, if not, please feel free to visit our website for more information. Unfortunately, our General Manger did not receive your letter, though he is happy to speak with you to not only understand why the letter was not received, but to learn more about your stay and to share details about the enhancement if you are interested. At your convenience, please call 858.550.1000 and ask for Terry Buchholz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location was beautiful and the staff was friendly.
Immediately upon arrival, I felt relaxed.
Venue is recommended for future travel.
Ideal for couples, friends, and family.

Definitely will return for a trip to the spa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcapetillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends and family enjoyed your weekend with us. We are honored to be a part of such a special occasion. We hope that you'll join us again soon for another occasion or just for a relaxing weekend. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay, especially if you can get the discounted rates. One issue was an upgrade to a Garden View room, which had about 8 feet of garden, then a parking lot. Ray, from valet services, immediately called the front desk and told them of our concerns and we were moved to a nice corner room with a beautiful view. The staff was extemely courtesy and professional, and willing to answer any and all questions. And don't forget the afternoon champagne! A great way to get the evening started. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the inside garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your honesty regarding our rooms. We apologize if any of your experience did not live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My fiancé and I had a gift certificate for a one night stay and free breakfast that was expiring so we had to use it. It was a great weekend getaway for us. We both work down the street from the Estancia so right after work, we just checked in and relaxed away. Had a great dinner at Mustangs and Burros. The room was comfortable, the bed was cozy. Although the one thing was pretty bad was the wifi connection. It kept cutting out. But since we were there to get away for a bit, we didn't mind. The breakfast buffet at the Adobe was fantastic. All the staff were very courteous to us. I'd differently recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvelarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear how much you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay. We can assure you that we are looking into the issue you encountered with the wifi. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,151 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
885 reviews
3.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
836 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing