We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A few days in paradise”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa is a great place to stay if you are looking for beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms, enchanting ambiance and excellent staff. My stay was incredible and will certainly put it back on my list of places to visit again. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the La Jolla area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in La Jolla. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a dip in our pool or some margaritas at Mustangs and Burros. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    373
    145
    68
    35
See reviews for
306
477
54
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Service
The moment we pulled onto the drive of the Estancia, we were greeted in the most welcoming manner by the friendly valet. This set the bar high which every single employee met for our entire two evening stay. This is so rare but when I mean every single employee, I mean it! From housekeeping to front desk to restaurant servers to even the gardeners!

Spa
The spa is great with especially lovely out door hot tub areas. My prenatal massage was great 9i dozed!) and my husband, who was apprehensive at first because he's only experienced a few of them, came out super relaxed and happy.

Pool
The pool area is nice and saline water a major plus.

Food
The food was fine -- not exceptional like the service. We ate at Adobe and Mustangs and had room service. The one standout dish was a shrimp quesadilla appetizer from Mustangs - so delicious. Everything was was fine - seemed like standard hotel-y food.

Room
Our room was nice but not luxurious - thin and surprisingly spartan walls. We had a "veranda" room which is a bit misleading. The veranda is just the landing area outside the door with a table and chair. It did open up to a very pretty grassy courtyard.

Location
Situated in beautiful La Jolla in walking distance to the beach. We walked over to the glider launch area and down an amazing hike to Black's Beach! It's very steep and not for the faint of heart. The beach is popular in the nudist community so fair warning!

Biggest Complaint
Extremely challenging to navigate the property. There did not seem to be an obvious simple or quick way to get to the pool/spa area and our parking spot. The different levels was confusing too. We ran into at least two other guests who were wandering around lost and trying to study the little property map at the same time. I think we even walked the perimeter through the parking lot once because it was just easier than trying to find our way through all the corridors. Recommend MORE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAGE. Maybe with accompanying maps that show context of where the guest is in relation to everything else like "you are here" arrow.

All in all, I would definitely book this place and spa again. So relaxing -- wonderful getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool/spa if you plan to spend a lot of time there. You don't want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if the property is confusing; with 6 acres of land we can understand your frustration! We do, however, appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Your attention to detail is truly outstanding! We hope to see you again soon, and look forward to your return. Congratulations on your little one on the way, and we hope to meet him or her some day too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I feel almost guilty calling this venue a 'hotel' in that it is very unique and far from the ordinary. Ask for a little information about the estate when you check in, but you will understand why there is a very SUBTLE equestrian theme surrounding the entire space which is refreshing. The rooms are comfortable, and private which I appreciate. Despite my room being connected to a large open quad area, I never dealt with any noise. Professionally the employees at Estancia are fantastic to work with and very helpful and eager. As a coordinator, that is something I can appreciate.If you are looking for a hire rise hotel atmosphere avoid this place, if you are looking for something much more quiet and unique, visit the Estancia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOLEKNEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate our grounds. We think our equestrian theme is something rare and special as well! We hope that you can join us again for a bite in our Mustangs and Burros restaurant. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a meeting planner, I come into contact with a lot of hotel properties and conference services staff. Based on my recent experience at Estancia, it is a great place for a meeting. September 2012, our company hosted a three day leadership meeting for 45 people at Estancia. The setting is beautiful, the grounds well maintained, and we felt like we were away from everything. The conference rooms and chairs were comfortable. Food offered at the buffet was varied, plentiful and delicious. The conference services staff did a fabulous job. My primary contact, Summer Shoemaker, was superb. She helped me with everything before and during the meeting -- rooming list, signage, reception details and AV requirements. The catering manager noticed that I was working through lunch and offered to get me a boxed lunch! The AV manager met me every morning before the meeting to make sure the equipement worked properly. Everyone exceeded my expectations. I could not have asked for better service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eadyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear that you and your team were so comfortable at the Estancia La Jolla Hotel and Spa. We truly have some amazing team members and can assure you that Summer will be recognized for her efforts. We look forward to your return whether it be for business or pleasure, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a TravelZoo deal for an upgraded room for two nights which was pretty good, but when we called to make the reservation, they didn't have any of those rooms left. They offered us a higher upgrade for another $50 Plus a night. There is also a $17 per day charge for a lot of things that are usually included in nice hotels. The room was ok and the grounds are very pretty. We used the pool, jacuzzi and fitness room as well as the restaurants. The breakfast was pretty good (expensive) and the dinner was very expensive.

The service was quite good and we were within walking distance of the beach (which was nice). We hiked down the hillside from the paragliding area and it was pretty steep but fun. The beach is clothing optional which can be good or bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasadenababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, however wish it could have been better. We understand that our resort fee is sometimes misunderstood. We hope that you'll join us again for a drink in our wine bar or a massage in our spa. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a birthday celebration at the estancia, i loved the hacienda style hotel very relaxing but was disappointed by the food: plain menu, small quantity, pricey for a simple basic lunch. Service was friendly and professional. I would consider going back to the estancia for a drink and appetizers by the fireplace. Still lovely place to spend a week end.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again, so we may make up for the issues you faced last time. We can assure you that the dinning issues you encountered are not the norm, and we hope to be able to show you that upon your return. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Super good deal through Travel Zoo = package including welcome glass(es) of champagne, bottle of wine (sparkling is a good choice) and choice of free appetizer or dessert. The nachos were great and come reccomended - not your everyday bland ones. Super nice, professional and polite check-in and valet staff with a sense of humor. Always complimentary bottled water when we went out to sight-see and left at the end of our stay. Beautiful grounds and facilities. Located in a nice/interesting area for exploring without having to go to San Diego. Would love to go back again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We got an outlying, top floor room to the right of the entrance and we never heard the wedding/party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear how much you and your spouse enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite at Mustangs and Burros or a dip in the pool. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing