We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience La Jolla Shores Park
from $75.50
More Info
from $489.00
More Info
from $149.00
More Info
from $85.50
More Info
Reviews (2,568)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
1,414
607
117
25
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,414
607
117
25
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la jolla shores great beach boogie boarding family beach scripps pier clean beach life guards favorite beach san diego grassy area free parking leopard sharks street parking low tide beautiful area tide pools on the rocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with my husband and Mom on Columbus day, and we had a wonderful time. Not far from the park is the beach, and this is a family beach. Although it was a holiday the beach is wide enough so that it's not crowded and each family had their space. Sand and waves do not disappoint here we stayed until sunset.

1  Thank jessi540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

La Jolla Shores Park is the best place to swim in the san diego area. The park offers a great place to play frisbee and there are several lifeguard towers to keep watch over family members in the water. The beach is sandy and wonderful and excellent for kids building sand castles. It is kept clean and the park and beach are well maintained by the staff.

Thank LFPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really love this place. This area is so big than you can have all your privacy without any problem. You can walk a long and the landscape is really beautiful.

1  Thank marco-anni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

La Jolla is a good day out from nearby San Diego. Vey fashionable area with lots of expensive houses. The beach here is long, wide, flat and safe with rolling surf. You can walk a long way down past Scripps Oceanography Institue (well worth a stroll around). Limited facilities and no locker storage however and the toilets on the day we visited were dirty and some unusable. Nearby are the excellent shores hotel for drinks and happy hour and avenida de la playa where lots of restaurants and also hire shops for kayaks and surf boards. I recommend doing the coastal walk starting from near palomar and Neptune streets which takes you all the way around the coast past about 11 beaches and coves - just google la Jolla coastal walk for directions- it takes you to the cove and the cave store (barely worth the $5 to view) and takes around 1-2 hours and you finish at the Shores for a swim. Lots of seals and sea lions on the way. A good day out.

Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My visit in August was ideal for swimming in the pacific. The water was so warm and everyone was enjoying the low tides. I've never seen so many people in the water.

Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I know I might regret telling the world this, however, I love to travel myself and I always appreciate secrets from locals. So of course La Jolla Shores Park & Beach is amazing and can get packed on the weekends. But my favorite thing to do is on Mon thru Thur when most people are at work. You park at La Jolla Shores for free and a short 3 min walk down the boardwalk you get to the La Jolla Shores hotel. Pop inside the hotel at lunch time and have your pick of almost any table facing the ocean on giant windows. The food is decent, prices manageable and views are amazing!! Free parking and ocean view dining and usually 90% empty. You’ve got paradise to yourself. Then after lunch pop out into the hotels courtyard and play a game of ping pong, sit in the shade, read a magazine, then stroll back along the beach to your car. Why fight the crowds in La Jolla Cove or PB, when the Shores will be your own almost private paradise. You are welcome!

1  Thank funnysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

one word - perfect
sand is perfect,water is perfect,waves are perfect,area is perfect

this beach is in la jolla which is one of the richest communities in the country with amazing houses near this amazing beach . the water is warm (usually) sand is great and the waves are big and fun . theres always a bunch of people that are nice to look at and always something going on . it is near food and shops if you just walk about 5-10 mins . recommend this beach

1  Thank Mikey201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely beach- sandy with great sea front! Reminded me a lot of the Miami beaches - gorgeous all around! Very busy with activities from surfing to paddle boarding and lots of families and people on the beach. After sunset there’s spots you can have a bonfire even - lovely! Don’t miss this come and see for yourself! Only negative would be the washrooms not too clean.

Thank SAcouple86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lifeguards were all very helpful, and they made sure swimmers and surfers didn't collide. Not many big waves, but the water was refreshing. It can get crowded in the summer, but it's in a beautiful place, and there's always something going on.

Thank Fairestraitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located right ON one of the best beaches in LaJolla. Lots of great people watching or just set up shop right on the beach which is right over the boardwalk from the park!

Thank mattfasang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews