We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than the first time I went there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollonia

Apollonia
Ranked #80 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $10 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nobel Drive
Transit: Bus stops are available on Nobel Drive and Genesee Avenue within 2-minute walk from Apollonia
Description: A contender for the best Greek restaurant in Southern California, For 28 years, Apollonia (formerly Aesop's Tables) has been the destination of choice for La Jollans with an appetite for Greek delicacies. The restaurant has a handsome outdoor patio where shaded alfresco dining is delightful. Venture inside and you will find a charming ambiance in every dining room and in the beautiful lounge. The menu includes age-old favorites such as Dolmades and Moussaka, alongside some absolute surprises guaranteed to tantalize your adventurous curiosity. The menu offers many heart-healthy items prevalent in Greek cuisine and are suitable to those who follow a restricted diet yet like the joys of eating and the finer things of life. Apollonia's service is very friendly and as pleasant as the food.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Much better than the first time I went there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I somewhat reluctantly agreed to have dinner here with friends because my last experience wasn't that great. For example, if you like good thick lentil soup, this is not the place for it. Their lentil soup is very brothy (or "watery" in my terminology). I had the tomato basil soup this time which was fine although it could have had more basil and I had the lamb moussaka. I really liked the moussaka, authentic or not. The portions are quite large so I had enough leftover for lunch the next day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maringfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
602 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went here on recommendation as we were in the area and we were disappointed, I just didn't think it was very authentic Greek food. The Moussaka was not very good and I don't know were they got their recipe because it wasn't Greek. The rest of the food was all about the same just not very good. I have been to many great authentic Greek restaurants in southern California and this is not one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid Greek Food. One of the best in San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

San Diego may have the worst Greek food of any major city. But if you are craving a good gyro or other Greek specialties you can't go wrong here. Well prepared and good service. But don't compare it to what you can get in New York!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDBMWLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Greek food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Apollonia Bistro is in a very busy shopping center in the UTC Golden Triangle area but is well worth stopping in. Warm, friendly service and wonderful authentic Greek food. Outside dining is protected from weather and very inviting. Menu is worth taking your time to read. Great for lunch or dinner and enjoy a great wine with you meal!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Eeyore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleBitBritish
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Greek food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was craving moussaka and we took a chance here. We arrived and choose to sit on the patio. Husband enjoyed the beer which was authentic and the moussaka we were told was made on the premises, we could not fault the food. Really delicious! The menu offered a great selection too. My portion of moussaka was most generous, I did think I would not manage to eat it all....but no....and instead I didn't have a dessert, the moussaka completely satisfied my appetite!! Yummy!! it came with delicious rice too. Husband tried a medley of items which he really enjoyed.....we'll be back!! The inside of this restaurant was really nice decorated too....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleBitBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollonia also viewed

San Diego, CA
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Apollonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing