We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't match the hype. Go to chipotle”

Puesto Mexican Street Food
Reserve with OpenTable
Puesto Mexican Street Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Puesto is a popular San Diego restaurant that successfully mixes a casual attitude with an original twist on Mexican street food and drinks. Puesto knows the true meaning of fresh with hand-made tortillas, scratch salsas, all-natural meats, sustainable seafood and local greens. This incredible combination of the freshest, highest quality ingredients all prepared in house creates the greatest TACOS you've ever tasted! Chef Luisteen serves beautiful market salads, antojitos (Mexican tapas), ceviches, moles, tostadas and other authentic Mexican favorites. Puesto serves up a refreshing craft bar program led by San Diego's champion mixologists Queen, Conner and Ward. They bring Puesto's dedication to freshness and quality to scratch Margaritas, Palomas, and seasonal Aguas Frescas served pure or as cocktails. SALUD!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Doesn't match the hype. Go to chipotle”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Food is unique seeing the corn tacos cooked before you is a nice touch. I had the carne tacos and accepted the "way they are on the menu" offer. Too much cheese, didn't taste much like a carne taco by the time they were done. Over hyped. Under deliver. Won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    192
    62
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“yummy should be a national chain”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

You get to create your own meal. You see what goes into your meal. The prepares are fun, friendly, cute.
The outside area is not comfortable. In La Jolla the outside should be as comfortable as the inside.
Overall though it is just a great place for some really tasty food.
I had the Chicken Bowl.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irvinggetthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A twist on the fast food, upscale Mexican theme”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Potatoes and nopales give this restaurant an added level of interest you don't see in similar chain restaurants. Fun decor, great location, and everyone in our family (all ages) would go back for more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank triciaoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Abor MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too spicey for me”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wasn't crazy about the saucy chicken. Good quantity of food. Comfortable environment. Good location. I agree with previous reviewer that I would recommend Chipotle instead. But the handmade corn tortillas that are made right in front of you cannot be had at Chipotle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank umichfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go to Rubio's or Chipotle instead!! Worst tacos I ever Had!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Forget about being authentic, the food does not even taste good!! I also went to this place based on the good reviews. We were completely disappointed. I had the carne asada, chicken al pastor and shrimp taco. These were by far the worst tacos I ever had in my life. The ingredients are fresh and good quality, however the meats are extremely flavorless.

Chicken al pastor taco: no flavor, "Al pastor" is a very flavorful sauce (typically served with pork tacos not chicken). This taco was far from good, the chicken had no flavor and the sauce was not good at all.

Carne Asada: the worst of all tacos, meat had no seasoning, it was so bad that we did not even finish it.

Shrimp taco: out of the 3 was the most decent one, simpply ok.

Margaritas, sangrias, and other drinks are made from sugary and cheap concentrates. My sangria literately tasted like corn syrup with red colorant.

Don't waist your money and time here.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeriFoodWine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puesto Mexican Street Food also viewed

 

Been to Puesto Mexican Street Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing