We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“GREAT SEA LIFE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
Book In Advance
$79.98*
and up
Stand-Up Paddleboarding Lessons
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
992 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“GREAT SEA LIFE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The La Jolla Cove is always a pleasant place to visit. There are many sea mammals to watch and the scenery is fantastic.

There is a large park above the Cove. Some weekends there are as many as a half dozen weddings taking place at the same time. Great setting for starting a new life.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,112
    1,914
    383
    98
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found this area by accident actually. Our 4 year old grandson wanted to take a walk after dinner at a local restuarant and insisted we walk down to the beach. We were so surprised when we found ourselves at the cove.
We don't know who was more excited to see the gorgeous scenery and the seals! There was one of the best sunsets I've ever seen. The walkway around the cove is so much fun.
A beautiful spot I hope to return to in the future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is ranked #1 for a reason. It simply has THE best views in Southern California. Aside from trying to find parking, the cove is beautiful. We got some great pictures, enjoyed the ocean view from the cliffs, and watched the impressive little ground squirrels that burrow in the hills. We spent the afternoon there just taking it all in. It's a great spot for a picnic. If you're in San Diego, you need to drive up to La Jolla to see this. It's worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A nice park for a walk, seal-watching, and just relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I was recently in La Jolla for a business trip and found myself up early each day before my meetings. The weather and air in La Jolla are so pleasant that I couldn't wait to get outside each day. La Jolla is a great little town and the park is a nice part of that. There are lots of nice walking paths, green grass to spend some time relaxing, great rocks with small pools of water that host great little bits of crabs and marine life, and seals laying on the rocks. You can do a lot in this area, or very little depending on your mood.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A small area called the gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Don't expect a big place to visit here but it is quite beautiful. The area has a nice walk way along the ocean, the beach is quite small, in fact packed wall to wall people in the summer. Fairly good snorkeling year round.Nice beach shop up the hill to visit with a cool staircase to walk down into a cave.Small fee to use it.In the back is a nice path behind some private homes with excellent views, makes you want to move there if you can afford it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnnLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing