We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seals up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
La Jolla Cave Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #1 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seals up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went to Child's Pool, what an experience. Seals and their pups just feet away with only a string standing between you and them. I now watch them on the live webcam feed I found. The day we went there must have been over 100 seals on the beach and around the break wall. Signage there says the seals appear in Feb until mid April. I think we were lucky to see so many seals. The grounds leading up to Child's Pool were breath taking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newbie_traveller_kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,729
    2,131
    417
    108
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest spots in La Jolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Every time I'm in La Jolla I visit the Cove. We enjoy the great vistas, the beauty of the ocean, the silly sea lions. A great place to hang out in the sun, and maybe go for a swim.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovestobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful little spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

La Jolla Cove is an extremely unique spot with seals, caves and beautiful clear waters. A great place to snorkel! We have already decided we are coming back to do that. We visited Sunny Jim's Cave as well! Check out our post to read more about our experience! Have a great time :)

http://mrandmrsadventure.com/2013/04/16/motorcycling-along-the-pch/

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful - but bring your wallet and watch for crowds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a beautiful area to snorkel, kayak, and swim amongst the seals even. It was, however, very crowded - not much parking - and make sure to bring lots of cash if you plan to eat anywhere (very pricey!). Recommend a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJewell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit smelly..but they are seals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Enjoyed watching the seals sunbathe and make noise.People respected them by letting them be in their natural habitat. The park itself was not dog friendly but the sidewalk was. I'd recommend stopping by if you are touring the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fla-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing