We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to relax and enjoy your meal”

Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar
Ranked #147 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Torrey Pines and Kline
Description: Finch’s Wine Bar & Bistro is a serene, intimate space where guests can escape from the real world and relax, drink great wine, enjoy live music, and eat some of the best food in La Jolla. Whether sitting in the wine bar, in the dining room or on the cozy patio, we will provide you with a wonderful dining experience!
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want to relax and enjoy your meal”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Finch's is the place for you! This little gem offers excellent food, great atmosphere and a wonderful service .! Sitting outside in February ? O, yes! What a pleasure. The heating lamp is there for you and the owners come with extra blankets to make you feel nice and cozy. Another important thing to mention - CONVERSATION FRIENDLY! Great place to bring your friends and family.
The staff is very accommodating and if you have any allergies or dislikes, the chef has no problems to substitute and offers you a few choices. The pistachio crusted salmon is amazing!

Can t wait to go back and try their lunch menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch. Great Service.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Yes, it does rain in La Jolla, CA. After walking the beautiful shore line in a drizzle we needed a glass of wine and a nice light lunch. We would have gone to TA for suggestions, but finding a parking spot was our first priority. Finally we found one, and a few store fronts up Girard St. we discovered Finch's on our own. Great find! Wonderful wine selection, great sandwich, soup and salad. Charming atmosphere, un-pretentious wait staff, reasonable pricing. Not perfect though. No ocean view!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captainjim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, AR
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we booked a Saturday evening reservation they could only offer patio seating due to a large party inside (the place is tiny). That would have normally been our choice but it was a COLD January in La Jolla and we weren't sure we'd be comfortable. One member of our party had been there before and was anxious to go back so we decided to give it a chance. What a perfect evening! The umbrella heaters took the chill off and for the ladies they also provided stylish little black lap blankets to keep us cozy. The waiter was very helpful in recommending wines (even for the member of our party who doesn't care much for wine and would have preferred a mixed drink, but they're a WINE BISTRO and understandably don't serve liquor). The roasted beet salad was excellent and large enough to split with my companion as a starter, and the stuffed squash blossoms were wonderfully different. Each person in our group chose a different entrée and all agreed the food was fantastic -- mussels, shrimp portofino, lobster carbonara, and portobello ravioli, but the star of the menu is the braised chicken, possibly the best chicken dish I've ever tasted. It was fall off the bone tender with a deep, richly flavored au jus, garlic mashed potatoes and fresh spinach. The dessert menu was tempting, but sadly we were too full for more than coffee. A highlight of the evening was entertainment by Elliott Lawrence, the "cocktail jazz" guitarist. Delightful background music, not so loud as to stifle conversation even though we were seated near him. We were so glad we sat "outside" even in the cold!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soxgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks like a hole in the wall at first...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Let me tell you, this place was difficult to find.

It's storefront is a little crevice between two other doors, and it leads you to a back area that looks awesome. I felt like I was eating in a garden because of the fountains. The food was good, I enjoyed our appetizers and the portions were decent.

I was a little surprised by the lack of knowledge about wine from our server. He seemed like he was new to the restaurant though.

The wine itself was also good, we had a Cab.

Not much as far as cocktails and beer selection, but it is a wine bar so I didn't expect much.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone, but make sure you keep your eyes open for the sign above the crevice of an entrance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vang0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la jolla
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, casual ambience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Finch's Wine Bar and Bistro has been open for about a year. The food is consistently excellent. The mussels apetizer that is offered every night is a great starter. The catch of the day is always very fresh. The service is very attentive. The wine list is adequate and reasonally priced. Difficult to find, it is worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xraymanLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing