We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding choice!”
Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pantai Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We selected Pantai Inn for a long weekend in La Jolla for a family reunion. After comparing all of the top local hotels with Pantai we selected it because the value was much better. The rooms are really apartments with full kitchens, living rooms, bedrooms, and baths. The facility is immaculate and the furnishings comfortable. The linens and towels are luxurious. The continental breakfast is generous, fresh and offers a variety of options. The fresh coffee/tea and cookies/pasty in the afternoon is perfect after a long walk or shopping trip. The free parking and free wireless are an added value not available at any other hotel in town. The staff is extremely friendly, very professional and there to make your stay perfect. They truly wanted to please you and be sure you were comfortable and satisfied with every detail.

We also enjoyed the location very much. Easy walking to all shops, restaurants and beaches. The views from the oceanfront rooms/suites is delightful and expansive. The patio area is very nice and allows for outdoor breakfast or lounging for those without patios.

We would strongly recommend Pantai Inn to anyone looking for a great place to stay in La Jolla. Way more relaxing than a hotel room!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family came to the San Diego area for a high school football game and we decided to stay in La Jolla. Pantai Inn is directly across the street from the ocean so we thought it was a good choice. We have been very pleased so far with the 2 bedroom villa we're staying in. Our only negative comment is that the bathroom is far too small. The shower is great though. The entire hotel is gorgeous and very clean. Lovely sitting areas to enjoy the view and weather. Friendly staff. Since there is no restaurant we had to walk up to the town, but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The price for the unit is a little high but for us it was worth the extra $$ because of the location. Very enjoyable and relaxing. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My other half and I are from London and decided to get married in California, so planned our wedding remotely. I was concerned it could be a disaster organising everything by email, but everything was perfect – thanks to hours of scouring Yelp and Google, and the wonderful people (and places) we found, who would help make our day perfect!

The reviews of Pantai Inn on Tripadvisor are what sold me. We were going to stay in a vacation rental, but decided to splash out even more, and book one of the 3-bedroom units at Pantai Inn. My other half is a VERY light sleeper, so likes to have a 2nd bedroom to escape to when we go away, but there were no 2-bedroom ones available – so we were excessive considering it was just the two of us! We also booked 3 of the 1-bedroom apartments for our parents.

Location is perfect; waterfront, but only minutes walk to the shops or the Cove.

Our ‘cottage’ was lovely! We had a full kitchen and lounge/dining room, so it was great to cook a couple of family dinners in, instead of eating out. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms were quiet so we got some good sleeps. The only tiny downside, is that the bathrooms in the 3 bedroom cottage are dated. The ones in the 1-bedrooms (that our parents’ were in) were AMAZING so we were a bit jealous, but that’s really the only negative.

The front desk were lovely and helpful, and breakfast was great – fresh fruit, bagels, toast, cereal, coffee, juice and tea.

On our wedding night, they scattered rose petals from the front door, leading to the upstairs bedroom, and in a heart shape on the bed – put some vases of roses upstairs and downstairs, and put champagne and chocolates on the table! Amazing! It was a lovely surprise.

Anyway, I would not hesitate to recommend Pantai Inn, and should we visit La Jolla again we’ll definitely be staying there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After researching Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at The Pantai Inn and upgraded to a full ocean view. It was delightful! We overlooked Scripps Park and the Pacific. The suites were very spacious, complete with living, dining areas, complete kitchen and a comfortable bedroom and bath. The location to other areas in La Jolla was convenient and walkable. The staff was fabulous, the garden lovely. Perfection would have been the upper story ocean view with balcony had we been able to book it.We would visit again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Try and book the second floor ocean view. It's worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Pantai Inn is a small, boutique hotel/bed and breakfast in La Jolla. It's a quiet retreat a short walk from many restaurant and across the street from the ocean.

The interior of the rooms are spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuavaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great room, steps away from the La Jolla Cove, incredible staff, owners, and people working on this awesome place!! We were working in the area and came across this beautiful place on our way back to our parked car from walking down to the Cove. I had never seen this place, even though I am pretty familiar with this area of La Jolla. We walked in to get some info and met the owner who then spent the next 25 minutes showing us this beautiful place. From Studios to 3 bedroom villas. Incredible workmanship and love went into every room we saw. We were so impressed that after dinner, we walked back and rented the studio for the night. We had nothing but the dirty work clothes on our backs but just knew we couldn't walk away from the chance to stay right on the beach. The staff made sure we had toiletries and towels for the beach the next day. We walked to a small shop they mentioned and bought suits, sandals, shorts, hats and sun dresses. Everything you need is within walking distance. The next morning we had the best cont. breakfast I have ever seen. So much fresh fruit!!! The best experience ever!! We will be back!!
3

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISALIPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is awesome! It's a true slice of Balinese lifestyle. It's also a VERY unique Bed and Breakfast inn -- the likes of which I have never been to before...

While the Fourth of July was hectic, the staff went out of their way to make it a luxury experience for me. Although the cost is high, what you get in return is magnificent!

Not only is the setting unique, but the parking is free, and I received a complimentary bottle of California wine which was served on a silver platter.

The King sized bed was exactly as they said it would be -- a luxury with the finest sheets that money can buy.

The view from my room was as advertised - a partial ocean view. However, this also afforded me some privacy on what is a very busy night in La Jolla Cove -- the Fourth of July.

I highly recommend this hotel for honeymooners and romance.

It also suited me -- a single traveler - just fine since it was within an easy walking distance of the fantastic village of La Jolla where the shopping is to die for!

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: An upstairs, full-on ocean view room is the most desirable, but I liked my partial ocean view on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0nniej0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: $355 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing