We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Superb location & ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pantai Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb location & ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a fabulous place. Great location, helpful staff, clean, upscale and peaceful. We had the two bedroom with a view at the front of the hotel. Coffee outside in the morning was superb. It was one of the best locations I have ecer had at any hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own food & wine - the kitchens are fully equipped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi LovetoTravel!

We appreciate the great tip about bringing your own food to the property. Our rooms do indeed come fully equipped with everything that may need you need. We even have a juice extractor on hand for when you're on a health kick! I wish my kitchen at home was as nice as what we offer in the rooms. Thank you for the feedback and we hope that you 'travel' back to the Pantai Inn soon!

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    67
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
194
301
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wow - what a beautiful Inn. We stayed in a one bedroom partial ocean view. Everything exceeded our expectations. The location is absolutely fantastic. We walked everywhere - a nice perk in a place where parking is a challenge. The women who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. Wi fi worked well - fast and easy. Beautiful rooms with many extras and details like under cabinet night lighting in bathroom and a filtered water tap. Bed was very comfortable. My husband loved the huge flat screen tv. Breakfast was simple but delicious - big bowl of fresh fruit with variety of berries (not typical cantelope or bananas). They even thought to put out soy milk. So nice to listen to waves crashing. Loved our stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Indigo -

What a fantastic review of the property. I'm glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. The small touches such as offering soy milk at breakfast I feel are what set us apart. Please think of us for any future stays as we continue to grow and expand.

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Celebrated our 21st Wedding Anniversary at the Pantai Inn for two nights.

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is perfect here. The Inn, The staff, The location... all perfection.

When the word finally gets out about this gem it will probably be tough to get a reservation. Hope there will be room for us again. Thank You! Thank You!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks Mike!

Congratulations on your 21st wedding anniversary and thank you so much for spending it with us. Hopefully we are getting the word out there and reviews like yours are definitely highlighting this "hidden gem". Don't worry though, we'll keep a room waiting for you on your 22nd anniversary!!

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Pantai during our honeymoon. The location is fantastic, literally 30 seconds from the sea and a few minutes walk to the centre of La Jolla. We had a one bedroom apartment with partial view - the rooms were very well appointed and spacious and kept immaculately clean by the staff. You have the option of breakfast on the terrace or in your room which was nice. Everything had been carefully chosen and the staff were really helpful. We would definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Scousie!

Thank you for the wonderful response. I would love to take credit for our beautiful location but that goes to our great ownership team. We hope that you think of the Pantai Inn for any future stays.

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just returned from 4 nights in a 2 bedroom suite, number 201. Now I have stayed at great places all over the county and a few in other countries, but this is by far the best of everything. No expense was spared in turning this oceanfront oasis into a luxury destination with the highest quality everything! Large LED televisions 3 total, gas range and high end appliances in the kitchen. The bathroom has a rain shower and totally clean. The carpets are so clean that you can walk barefoot without any concern. The turndown service includes free Eclipse chocolate bars that sell for $4 a piece and are the best chocolates you have ever had. My kids wanted extra bars and they were given them, they were so happy with that. The breakfast had quality food, almond milk, fruit, organic coffee and tea, the best muffins and pastries you could imagine as well as bagels and cream cheese. The staff is what sets this place over the edge, you feel important here, and they go out of their way to make you feel important. This was paradise, stay here, spend he extra money you will be glad you did! The beds are so wonderful, feels like your sleeping on air. This is what every hotel should be like. The pics are great but don't do it justice.

Room Tip: Room 201 was awesome, we had 5 people in there and there was so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lynneraz,

Thank you for your wonderful words about the Pantai Inn. I know our staff is very appreciative to hear such a glowing review. The staff does in fact feel that each of our guests is important. This is meant to be a relaxing getaway but at the same time you should feel like you are home. We hope that it came across during your stay. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Shane Pappas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great location next to Shell Beach & Scripps Park. Shopping & plenty of restaurants for all budgets & tastes within minutes walking around downtown La Jolla. The place is a mix of restored cottages, bungalows & town homes about 11 units in all.

We stayed in floor level 1 bedroom cottage with sweeping views of park & ocean. It included a living room with gas fireplace & a 55' screen above it! A full modern granite top kitchen, GE appliances & formal dining area, a big plus if you are staying for more than a few days & don't want to eat out constantly. A separate bedroom with its own 55' HDTV a very modern bath Balinese style. As a matter of fact the Balinese influence is everywhere the decorative tile, mahogany wood, copper fixtures & artwork. A filtered water system, security safe, docking stations, complimentary wifi & parking were appreaciated. The last two you typically pay dearly at resorts & parking is at a premium around here.

There is a nice inner courtyard to relax & unwind with modern heaters for the chilly nights. That is also where you can enjoy the complimentary buffet breakfast of teas, coffees, juice, pastries, fruit & Greek yogurt. Nice!

No need of a pool or fitness center since you have the beach & oceanfront for jogging & cycling:)

Last but not least was great staff! All of them very helpful. Turndown service was superb with a the gourmet chocolates another treat. Karen one of the housekeeping gals, very thorough & pleasant!

If North San Diego is your destination La Jolla & Pantai Inn definitely deserve your consideration.
We will be back!

Room Tip: The 2 Cottages are right on the front of the property have the full ocean view but are also right of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socratesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Socratesa,

Thank you so much for the ringing endorsement. I don't think that I could have said it any better myself. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at Pantai. Keren was very excited and appreciative to read your wonderful comments. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Shane Pappas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom full ocean view and WOW. We saw dolphins every day from the front window. It was really nice having the patio all to ourselves with all the people going by looking envious. It was really spacious, it was nice having the gas fireplace to take the chill out in the evening. It was just a gorgeous place, attention to detail in every aspect. Hope to be back soon. There were no issues with car alarms, car doors opening or closing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the patio directly facing the ocean. The time of year we stayed we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnabyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Property: Pantai Inn
Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing