We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pantai Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a mini-honeymoon right after our wedding (our honeymoon is not until December). The location of the hotel is perfect since is in downtown La Jolla and within walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants. We arrived and were greeting by the friendly receptionist. The check-in process was easy and the receptionist even showed us around the room. We had a 1-bedroom suite with a full kitchen. The furnishings were nice and we especially liked the fireplace and large flat screen tvs (2 tvs total - 1 in bedroom and 1 in living room). We also liked the complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, and wireless internet. My only complaint would be the size of the bathroom. The bathroom was EXTREMELY small and the toilet practically was in the shower. There was no bathtub and every time we took a shower, the water leaked all over the floor because there is no shower pan and the floor is not slanted. The bathroom fixtures were very nice, especially the multiple showerheads. My other complaint would be that there is no "do not disturb" sign. We wanted to sleep in and the housekeeping lady came by every day around 10am asking if we wanted service. It would have been nice to have a sign so she would not wake us up.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and the location is ideal. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k15nguye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for one Thursday night in mid October 2012 and it was one of the best all around lodging experiences we’ve had (and we’ve stayed in some nice places). It was my wife’s birthday and she decided to bring homemade scones for the front desk and ask for an upgrade. What the heck, it was worth a shot. Amanda at the desk couldn’t have been nicer (as was everyone there including the gardener who keeps things looking great). She gave us their best suite, 208. Check out the pictures, it’s awesome. You’ve got your own giant porch overlooking the Pacific, which is right across the street. When you tire of that, the large living room has a full-length picture window and two big couches to sit and gaze. Also in that room is an eating table with four chairs, a big working gas fireplace, a gorgeous flat screen TV and a Murphy bed which folds down from the wall. Everything is new and spotless. Then you have the lovely bathroom with hand painted ceiling and a medieval style shower, a full kitchen with brand new appliances, and a cozy bedroom with a four-poster queen size and another flat screen.
You’re in between La Jolla Cove to the north and the Children’s Pool with its seals to the south. We walked up the steps to eat at the restaurant 9-10 which is gourmet with a capitol G, but there are twenty other restaurants up there to suit any taste. Of course you have free parking so you can cruise anywhere.
I’d recommend this room to anybody. If you’ve got a special occasion, say a wedding with a group from out of town, this suite could comfortably sleep five. A word of advice: this area is world famous and fills up with people during the day on weekends and holidays. They all leave after sunset though and you’ve got the waves and the seals to lull you to sleep. I hope to return someday.

Room Tip: 208. Bring treats and try for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pantai Inn is absolutely Beautiful! My husband and I spent 4 glorious nights at this lovely apartment style Inn.

The location is fantastic walking distance to everything, shopping, restaurants the beach is literally across the street from this amazing gem! Our stay included delicious complimentary breakfast, complimentary wifi and parking which are a rare find.

The staff was so friendly remembering our names and really made us feel right at home!
If your looking for a special and unique place this is it! Loved it! We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 431Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hi Janet -

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Pantai Inn. We're glad that we could give you such a wonderful experience. Our staff definitely strives to be the best and it sounds like that showed during your stay. Hopefully, you have a chance to return to La Jolla and the Pantai Inn in the near future. We will be awaiting your return. Have a wonderful day!

- Shane Pappas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our first visit to the San Diego area and have found the Pantai Inn the perfect spot. I am a clean freak and have not found one thing that gives me the willies. The location is amazing and many things are within walking distance. The staff is wonderful! Would stay here forever!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucydamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Lucy,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding the Pantai Inn. We always love receiving guest feedback. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your experience at Pantai. I have to agree with your comments about the staff. In my opinion, we have THE best staff in La Jolla. From housekeeping to the front desk they definitely make my job as general manager much easier. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope that you choose Pantai Inn for any future stays.

- Shane Pappas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Pantai Inn offers an exceptional location and should meet all expectations. There are lots of great hotels in this area right by the coast. The combination of parking, free wifi , and access to the beach was tops on my list. And, this is a very difficult combo in the village. We stayed in a room with a partial ocean view and if you want an ocean view definitely go for a room that is a full ocean view. Room is a misnomer as these units have bedrooms, living rooms and kitchens. Not huge, mind you, but comfortable. Breakfast on the patio is lovely. No pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. It is just a matter of ocean view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaume01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed three nights at Pantai Inn in August. The staff was fantastic. The rooms excellent. The location is incredible. There was a slight mix up on booking - not to the fault of Pantai staff but with a online booking system that sold us the arrangement. I was absolutely amazed at how accommodating the manager was at calling me, well ahead of our stay, to make alternate arrangements and ensure our stay was most fabulous. Within walking to great shopping (wife loved that) and restaurants. Every morning for breakfast or anytime we strolled through the office the staff knew exactly who we were by name. They were very attentive to everything we needed. I can't recall the last time we had service to this degree. Oh, and the landscape - wow.
Without a doubt this is the hands down best stay in San Diego!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainAirHeliTCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pantai_Inn_Family, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Lamaniac,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear from you and to know that we exceeded your expectations during your last visit to Pantai Inn.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future trip to Pantai Inn.
We look forward to hearing back from you soon.
Terima Kasih,
(As they say in Bali, Thank you)

Bernardo Zavala
Sales and Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

That was fabulous!
We totally understood why this hotel has attracted so many people after experiencing their hospitality and perfect service. Cleaning crew wasalways friendly, beds were made perfectly, and everything was neat and comfortable.
Not many comments on breakfast were found on websites, so we did not expect much, but every morning we enjoyed fresh fruit, bagels and pastries. Coffee and tea were available anytime.
The room was beyond description. It was charming. We enjoyed ocean views from the window.

Their hospitality made our trip unforgettable and precious. We wish we could fly back now and stay at Pantai inn as long as possible !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocohoisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: $355 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing