We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casual spot for lunch on a beach”

Caroline's Seaside Cafe
Ranked #23 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Caroline’s Seaside Café by Giuseppe is a beach front restaurant located on the UCSD Scripps Institute of Oceanography campus in the Seaside Forum with full ocean views, serving healthy and creative California style dishes with a focus on organic and sustainable sources, hormone free meats and poultry.
2 reviews
“Nice casual spot for lunch on a beach”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great views, nice ambience for a casual meal. Tuna melt is fresh and delicious.

We found a parking spot on the street..

Quick service and wonderful ocean breeze while you eat!

Helpful?
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    97
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, good food. Pay for Parking!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were a party of 8 family members - various ages. This was the first time for all of us to eat here. As mentioned, the menu is limited, but everyone found something that was just right! The kids loved the pancakes. We arrived at 10 a.m. and while there was no line to order, all the outdoor tables were taken. We still had beautiful ocean views from inside as there are large glass windows. Strolling on the beach after breakfast was great fun. Be aware that you must pay for parking - unfortunately, we did not see the signs and we had two cars! Tickets are steep - $65 fines.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“What La Jolla is all about”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous panoramic beachfront view. Casual. Outdoors. Health conscious. Surfing. Intellectuals. That's La Jolla in a nutshell and mix that together with great food, generous portions and fair prices and you can't get a better sunny day introduction to this beautiful part of San Diego. That's what you'll find at Caroline's... A hidden gem of a breakfast and lunch venue on the UCSD/Scripps Institute of Oceanography campus. There is a years long waiting list to have a wedding with this backdrop but you can enjoy it any day of the week without a reservation. Its walk up ordering and the line can get long on Sundays near lunch time but well worth it. Have a little slice of Southern California lifestyle with your breakfast. Then walk down the stairs to one of the prettiest beaches in the world. When out of towners visit, THIS is the first place we take them!

Helpful?
2 Thank canalcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon crabber
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food with a five star view”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is owned by Scripps/USD and is located next to Scripps pier. The view if you sit outside is one of the best in La Jolla. With San Diego weather you can almost always sit outside. You order your food at the counter and it is brought to you. With only one person taking orders the line can be long at lunch. Fellow diners tend to be University of San Diego staff? Food choices are limited but it is well prepared and the seafood is very fresh. Prices are cheap compared with other restaurants in the area and with an ocean front view it is a real bargain. A great place if you are visiting the aquarium.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville
Level Contributor
236 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Consistently good experience here”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ate lunch here on numerous occasions, and breakfast twice while I was here for an extended business trip. On some occasions I had pre-packaged sandwiches, on others I had food made to order. One orders at the counter here, and then one's food is brought out.

All of the food I got here was constantly very good. The servings are on the larger side. They provision from organic sources. Service was friendly and welcoming, but the kitchen was sometimes slower than one might desire. There is often a line at busier times, a good indication of its popularity. While this was the most convenient place to eat for our purposes due to its location, we would not have ton back sol many times if the food was not consistently good. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Seaside Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Caroline's Seaside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing