We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pho, great Bánh mì!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pho La Jolla

Pho La Jolla
Ranked #97 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
1 review
“Good pho, great Bánh mì!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I used to come to this place to have their pho. Being tired of selection, I always ordered the combination bowl though I didn't like the meat ball. Then a friend recommended their Bánh mì, the Vietnamese sandwich. OMG, they were so good! Grilled pork Bánh mì is my favorite! They have good business in La Jolla, it is crowed most the time. If you have a large party, you always need to wait.

Helpful?
Thank Qing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The restaurant was full of people. The price in the menu looks very reasonable. I ordered the rice noodle. It was very delicious. The waitress was very friendly and nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We did visit Pho on a Saturday afternoon and it was very crowded. We did order the combo, shrimps and ribs were very good, the eggrols less. The noodles were almost cold! It is cheap but the waiter told us every meal was 50 cents more than listed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A real find - cheap and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

No wonder this place is popular. The menu is extensive, prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious. I was disappointed that they were out of Vietnamese beef stew so went completely opposite and had the vegetarian Pho. It was very traditional and delicious. The portion was huge. My husband had the bbq pork egg roll bun and enjoyed it. Well, he polished off most of it and said he couldn't complain for $7.50.
They don't sell wine but beer is available. Service is quick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beanetbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So so!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I love to eat Pho. It is really light and has a lot of nutrient. However at this place I found it very plain and weak. I might have to give another chance and try a different one, but the one I had wasn't really good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ykana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho La Jolla also viewed

 

Been to Pho La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing