We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & prices!”
Review of El Charro

El Charro
Ranked #334 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & prices!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved the burrito, enchilada (both huge) and great chips & salsa. The service was awesome and fast. I'm a lover of sour cream and they nicely gave me plenty without paying extra! Very friendly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crx2speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish & Shrimp Tacos - YUM!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I highly recommend the fish and shrimp tacos. Good portions, great taste, great price! Fast and tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mexican Fast Food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a small place in quaint town of La Jolla that our son-in-law introduced us to. We enjoyed our meal. Food was good and prepared quickly. Watch the burritos as they are LARGE. These 5 grandsons with us love Mexican food. There were some leftovers which we took with us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeardropTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Fast Food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were just looking for a quick, light lunch. After ordering a quesadilla and a fish taco at the counter, we were served quickly and were pleasantly surprised by the flavor and quality of both. It's not fancy, just good basic fast food. For La Jolla, the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chas1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious tacos!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We ate here while waiting for our snorkeling tour. We ate out on the patio and it was nice and shady. I got the combo with a fish and shrimp taco and it was good. I'm from Phoenix, so I am snobby about the Mexican food I eat. I thought it had good flavor and the portion was excellent. My boyfriend got a burrito and he hardly talked the whole time he was stuffing his face with it. We did try the salsa off the salsa bar and it all was very fresh and tasty. The girl at the counter was chatty and fun, she made sure we were taken care of.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chicaliebehunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to El Charro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing