We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all a very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“All in all a very good hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel has been updated recently. The bed is comfortable, the TV and power in the rooms are good. The AC is powerful and quiet. The food is pretty tasty and the grounds are excellent. Get a room with a patio and watch the sun set over the Pacific

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio on the ends of the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you found your guest room comfortable and our hotel relaxing. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    480
    208
    89
    51
See reviews for
344
379
56
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Hilton at Torrey Pines is located perfectly for what we like to do. We're kidless and avoid touristy areas, we have our favorite restaurants between La Jolla and Oceanside and getting to them from the Hilton is simple and fast.

The rooms have recently been upgraded and they are clean, well-lit, and well appointed. We choose the Golf Course King with a terrace. Waking up and looking across Torrey Pines to the Pacific never gets old!

The staff is very attentive and if you exercise outside the Hilton, expect to be greeted with a bottle of water when you get back. Let's talk about the location and physical training. San Diego is the birthplace of triathlon, and the area is crawling with fit athletes running and biking along Highway 1. Combine that with spectacular views of the ocean as you train and you'll find yourself wanting to visit the Hilton every year.

We cannot recommend the Hilton at Torrey Pines enough. In the 15 plus years that we've used this as our home away from home when in SoCal, we have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: There is an ocean and one of the most beautiful golf courses in the US...get a room that gives you a...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hilton is reasonable in there environmental practices. You can select when you want linens and towels replaced. Having windows that actually open provides breezes that reduce the need for AC. Why do hotels seal windows????
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous 5 star review! We are thrilled that we are your home away from home. We aim to create a relaxing and comfortable environment for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We walked up on a whim after deciding to drive to the coast from La Quinta. Wanted to play the famous course. Drove up to Hilton and got a terrific suite for around $225 per nite overlooking 18th fairway of south course.
Lovely spacious rooms, friendly staff and such a terrific course on your doorstep. Will happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your fabulous review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and Torrey Pines Golf Course! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is a large Hilton that seems more suited to conventions at first but it's right on a golf course which in turn overlooks the ocean and is a quiet relaxing leisure property. The grounds and tea are beautiful and it's a short drive to the town of LaJolla or the town of Del Mar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for leaving your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you found our hotel to be relaxing and beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were lured into this hotel by the seemingly great rate, only to be blindsided by unreasonable parking and wifi fees (that's right, wifi's not free for hotel guests). The posted rates therefore are not actual rates, assuming you park a car and/or have to use room wifi. I travel a lot and appreciate a feeling of being a valued customer (or, in this case, a valued Hilton Honors member). This hotel only seems to tell you at every turn "We're too big to care."

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do offer packages that include internet and parking. We also offer complimentary internet in all public areas. We do hope you will stay with us again when you are in La Jolla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

my wife surprised me with a trip to Torrey Pines and a stay at the Hilton. From valet parking to checkout it was a GREAT experience. The food was FANTASTIC and the service was 5 star. Mandy was our waitress at Torreyan restaurant and bar. She was AMAZING! it was pretty busy and she handled everything with speed and Grace. our bartender Ty recommended delicious drinks and we enjoyed our time by the fire pits watching the sun go down. if you want to feel pampered you should stay there. Thanks!
Gary L.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walllygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your fabulous review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your surprise trip with us and had a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stay at this property often for business. The staff is very friendly and accomodating from check-in to check-out. The location is very central to all of the sites in San Diego as well as the business district. The landscaping is beautiful. I had encountered a minor issue during my stay and the staff went above and beyond to help me. This is my choice hotel for the San Diego area hands down.

Room Tip: Views of the golf course are fantastic, request a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arochelle907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review with us! We are thrilled to hear that we are your choice hotel for San Diego. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing