We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Excellent value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location. Excellent value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

he location is wonderful. We usually stay at the Estancia but this hotel was half the cost in the same area. The beds are very soft and since I prefer firm that meant the sleep experience for me was below average. That is not the hotel's fault. If you like soft mattresses, you will like the beds.

There are no restaurants or other stores withing walking distance. You will need to drive a few blocks or use the hotel facility. Very nice walking trails in the Torrey Pines reserve are nearby. The pool and views at the hotel are very nice and we enjoyed both.

The only negatives would be the $25 per day self parking fee and the overpriced breakfast buffet but both of those are hard to avoid these days. For the area this hotel is an excellent value at $159 per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our getaway location on Torrey Pines Golf Course in La Jolla. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    454
    194
    82
    44
See reviews for
314
344
54
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have wanted to stay at the Hilton Torrey Pines for years. Kids are finally to the point where we could vacation with just the wife and I.

It was fantastic. It is a low key Hilton, great food, great staff. I am gluten intolerant and there were a few baubles there. I think they need to train the front-line staff on it as well as the kitchen but I managed. We got a steak with gluten onions on it for dinner and our server, Mandy Mahinay, handled it. They corrected the mistake and comp'd the meal. Unnecessary but a nice gesture. Hot tub is great and we met lots of other couples in the same time of life (kids are teenagers, vacationing differently).

It is in La Jolla and what can you say. La Jolla is one of the best places in the US.

We are at the highest level in the Hilton rewards program and we both said it is one of the best Hiltons in the US.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Churchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you and your wife were able to getaway and experience our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was there for a business meeting in the local area. My hotel stay was great. There are no restaurants in the immediate area so you have to go to La Jolla but that is about 10 minutes away (15 in rush hour traffic). Breakfast buffet was a little over priced $22.00. But hey its the Hilton La Jolla. The bar and patio area was awesome and you have a great view. We smoke cigars at the firepit until 11PM. Very nice. The concierge service was great. I gave the concierge a list of three restaurants my team and I wanted to eat at. He was very helpful with directions and made the reservations for us. Great job!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay. We are thrilled you were able to relax and enjoy sitting by our fire pits. No better view than the golf course and ocean! We will share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The place isn't for everyone. The rooms while clean are average. The place feels like a business hotel they have tried to dress up. There very limited options for food locally. On site Or upscale next door. That's it unless you drive.

But, the views are wonderful. The place is generally quiet the pool is nice the staff helpful the fitness center next door is outstanding and being ON the golf course is very cool.

For the price this is the coolest choice in SD for a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing. We are happy you enjoyed our getaway location right on Torrey Pines Golf Course. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have had Torrey Pines on my bucket list for some time now. Late last year I decided to get that one off of my list. I along with a few friends decided to make the trip. Tee times were arranged, room reservations made and off we went on March 2. When we arrived at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff and the appearance of the hotel. Our positive impression didn't end there. A problem immediately came up upon check in. The room I thought I had reserved was not available and the room I was given was going to be too small for us. The clerk at check in immediately found us a room that met our needs and kept the cost the same as the one they were going to give us. I was very impressed. The room was perfect, the view was spectacular and the staff was more than helpful and went out of their way to meet all of our needs. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank bigkuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that we were able to be a part of your bucket list! We will share your kind words with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had a trip to the coast last month for business, and being the corp. office was less than 1o minutes away, this indeed was the best place to stay. Excellent people at all levels, from concierge to the front desk, to the bartenders downstairs. No issues , perhaps a wee bit pricey for the portions in the restaurant, but all in all the will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Hotel is beginning to show it's age in some areas, but the people on the grounds make up for most of that. Guess I'm not thrilled about paying to park in a place you're staying at but it is what it is. Would stay there again on next trip out to the coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madbeacher2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy you were able to stay with us during your recent business trip. We will share your kind words with our staff. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

As someone who travel all the time, traveling for vacation can be difficult...but not when coming to this property. It is like coming home. The staff are attentive yet not over bearing. The food is excellent and the rooms were spotless. My wife has gluten allergies ( for many years) and their dining staff was attentive to her needs even to the point of checking on an item after she ordered it to tell her they were unsure if the soy sauce was gluten free. She ordered something else. Great attention to detail.
The La Jolla environment is fabulous and only 20 minutes from the city and 15 minutes from the airport...I would not even think of staying any place else. This was our 3rd trip there for vacation...and we will be there every year. PS the breakfast buffet and servers are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask fo a room with an ocean and pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS1DJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your time with us in beautiful La Jolla. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing