We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Choice Here Is Key!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room Choice Here Is Key!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Famous resort in the golfing world. The Lodge was booked, so this was initially my second choice. We chose an upscale suite, and could not argue with the views. We were top floor end with a fabulous outdoor space furnished with table, umbrella and lounge seating. Gorgeous weather and sweeping views of the course with the Pacific beyond. Of note was closeby parasailing park and of course the sunsets. This is a beatiful hotel in design, complete with welcoming and friendly staff - knowledgable & attentive concierge.
The food we had in the room was excellent. The suite itself was somewhat comfortable, though the configuation was not well thought out. Everyone today is "wired" so we were surprised that plugging in a laptop was a challenge. A credenza stood where a desk made more sense to me. The far door had the door open left and a mini frig open right - funny odd - difficult to get soda! The furniture placement seemed less than ideal thought the couch was comfortable. A large dining table for 8 dominated one room with a massive chandelier that seemed oddly out of place even though it matched the hotel lighting, and the bathroom is near the entry door, three rooms away from the bedroom - caution for all those nightwalkers. Speaking of the bathroom, please, please put nightlights in these bathrooms, rather than the 500 watt overhead light! But this is all fluff. Despite our colds the first couple of days, I would highly recommend this Hilton. The Lodge is right next door. I have not seem the inside, but the Hilton gets my money for the large outdoor space with my room - something that was not readily apparent looking over at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Pay for 2nd highest tier suite. You will not be disappointed. The outdoor space - while at a premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    463
    195
    83
    45
See reviews for
319
357
54
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed on the same floor as reception and the corridor to the rooms smelled of grilled food for my entire stay
Only one person on reception and check in was unnecessarily slow
Guests running around my part of the hotal at 5.00 am talking loudly on their phones - no hotel staff intervened
Decor is tired and very 80s

Guys on the main entrance very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: well away from the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRM1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sincerely sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that you were displeased with. I am very sorry that the service you received from the team was slower than you would have preferred and that you felt the décor was not as modern as you would have preferred. I will be sure to relay your feedback to our team for review and consideration. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
407 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is more of a resort than a hotel. My room had a wrap around balcony with a view of the golf course and the ocean. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spacious and welcoming. The pool was nice. The gym was nice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c685710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were thoroughly impressed with your spacious guest room complete with a private balcony and beautiful views. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the relaxing and peaceful grounds as well as all the amenities we offer our guests. Thank you for your recommendation to our future guests and we look forward to seeing you on a future visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel is and the setting is beautiful. Rooms are just so-so. Nice much for your money. Furnishings are dated. Service is cordial but very slow. Lots of door men but to few counter attendants. Resturant is very disappointing. While food is ok, it is way over priced for what you get and the chef (if there is one) has no imagination. Same food day after day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the beautiful and relaxing setting of the property and that you enjoyed your stay. I am sincerely sorry to hear that there were some aspects of your visit that you found lacking. I’m not sure when you were here for a visit, but we just completed our guest room renovation, so all of our rooms have been fully renovated with brand new modern and contemporary furnishings that are comfortable and cozy. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience at Torreyana and that you would have preferred different menu options. We do have our standard menu that we offer guests, in addition, our Executive Chef takes the time to prepare fun and exciting specials that we have available periodically throughout the year. I am very sorry that during your stay, you were not able to experience any of these specials and I hope that you can return for a visit to check them out in the future. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for a stay on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

the staff was friendly but just "average", they didn't seem to want to go out of their way to deliver a high level of service. When i asked the front desk why they charged $16 a day for "nothing special" AT&T wifi(who's phone support was not too helpful-consistent with the venue, i suppose), she said that it was because they were a Hilton Hotel- the real reason they charge, is unlike the way they make their Franchisee's offer it for free, they rake in the dough for greedy corporate!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! choose another venue!
See more room tips
Green Features: When you hang up your towels so that you can be environmentally good and reuse per the room's signage, the staff grabs them and launders them anyway. they pay lip service to the concept, but don't manage their staff well enough to actually execute!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorDubious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your candid review. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you didn’t receive quite the level of service that you were hoping for and that you were displeased with the wifi charges. I want to assure you that our team does do their best to deliver the friendliest and most efficient service to every guest at all times. Also, for future reference, we do offer complimentary wifi in all of our hotel common areas if that would better suit your needs. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you return for a visit on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend in May, 2013 for a conference he was attending. Hotel has an overall odd layout, but property is well maintained. The room was clean. Appeared a little "out-dated" but all in good repair. One restaurant and one bar. Food was overpriced, but it is California. The club house for the golf course is a two minute walk. The nature reserve, which I HIGHLY recommend, is a 5 minute walk from front lobby. Front desk staff very helpful and informative. My biggest negative about this property is that is not within walking distance of the downtown area. If this is where you want to be, this is not the property for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hldlovesthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Located in a beautiful area, great views, nice pool and outside lounge areas. Meeting space was very nice, though the power run to each ballroom was lacking. The banquet food was acceptable, but the hotel restaurant was not consistent at all. Had a lunch I wouldn't share with my dog, but then had a dinner (yes we gave it another try) that was really good. We were there for a week and ate at the hotel a lot. If there were more choices within walking distance, we wouldn't have eaten at the hotel at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank VAD30127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our future guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the beautiful and serene location of the hotel as well as our comfortable and relaxing outdoor areas. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food that you received throughout your meetings, but sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with the meals that you had while dining in Torreyana. I sincerely apologize for the lack of consistency you experienced and I will be sure to relay your feedback to our culinary team for review. Thank you and we do hope to see you again on a future visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing